Vacation Begins

It is 1:40 p.m. on Sunday, July 14, my husband and I are packed and ready for our flight to London. We are relaxing and waiting for the hands of time to tell us to head to the airport. Ding, a text message arrives saying our flight is on time. That’s good news, we smile. Ding, a new text arrives three minutes later. Your flight is delayed one hour. You will arrive in Dallas at 8:00 p.m. What?! That can’t work, our flight to London leaves at 8:10 p.m. We no longer smile.

Panic sets in, breathing is difficult, something must be done. I call the airline. All operators are busy, would you like us to call you back? Absolutely! Seven minutes of heart palpitations before the phone rings. A pleasant voice asks, “What can I help you with today?” I explain the problem. She begins to search for a solution. It seems that the 1:30 flight has been delayed until 3:30. The voice on the line asks, “Can you get to the airport to make that flight?” Absolutely!

Turn the hot water heater to vacation mode, set the thermostat on hold, dump the leftover milk, what have we forgotten? Load the bags into the neighbor’s car and off we go. We arrive at the airport by 2:30. Breathing is returning to normal. There seems to be a slight issue with the boarding pass, but the person behind the desk assures us, we are on the flight. As we stand at the counter another couple wants to get on this flight, but they are denied as this plane is full. I breathe a small prayer of thanks to the person who was able to book us. We must be the last ones to board the plane. Slowly the plane backs away and we are on our way to see new parts of the world from a cruise ship.

Many sleepless, uncomfortable hours later we arrive in London. We have purchased the transfer to the port from the cruise line. This helps to ensure that the boat won’t leave without us. The cruise line representative tells us the bus will be here shortly. Two hours later we board a bus for a two hour ride to the port.

We drag our tired bodies off the bus into the terminal thinking this will go quickly because no one else is there. This is not to be. They have disconnected all but two computers, so we must stand in line to get checked in. All I want to do is find my cabin to collapse, but that must wait. The ship is in the process of the muster drill. Attendance is mandatory. We are beyond tired and hungry, but we make it through the drill hauling our carry-on bags behind us. Finally, we make it to our cabin. A shower revives me and I am ready for whatever adventures lie ahead.

Fortunately our first day is a sea day, so we can rest up and be ready for the ports ahead. I will give you the details and share photos from this trip next week. But here is a taste of some of the sights to come. Can you guess where this is?

Everywhere you looked, water was falling from the tops of the mountains.

Everywhere you looked, water was falling from the tops of the mountains.

15 thoughts on “Vacation Begins

  1. Phillip says:

    Next time have your husband
    book you business class so at least his poor wife can sleep on the flight over!
    (He can enjoy the savings in economy!)

  2. I have no idea where the picture was taken, but I wanted you to know that you’ve been missed from SOL. I think Linda was gone last week too, and things just didn’t feel quite right without the two of you here. I can’t wait to see more pics and hear about the cruise. What a heart stopping beginning to your travels! You were lucky to get on that flight.

  3. Wow, this is way more exciting than the hole you found on the side of the road on one of your morning walks. What a dramatic start to your trip. I am looking forward to updates. πŸ™‚

  4. I’m hoping the rest of the trip was uneventful, except for experiencing some beautiful sites. The first pic has me intrigued and I can’t wait for the rest of the journey.

  5. Oh, my, you are so fortunate to have a traveling spirit with a traveling partner in tow! I will be following your journey from my armchair.

  6. Yep, I was agitated every step of the way. I love your calm approach to solving problems and for that nice person who booked you on the flight…wow. I’ve often wondered about that exact problem that you encountered. I also liked that you had the ‘ping’ of being told that you were delayed so you could make adjustments. I missed you. xo

  7. Seems to me that you are on the ish coastline – getting ready to cross the Channel – not sure of the exact location, but I will be thinking about it all day, and hope you’ll share before too long!! And – have a wonderful time…I can’t wait to read about your travels.

  8. I could feel your panic and your exhaustion…but what a relief to read that you made it. I look forward to seeing more beautiful pictures! Glad you are back…

  9. I’m glad you made it to you ship after all–what an adventure to get there! I can’t wait to see the rest of your pictures and learn about the rest of your trip. And…I have no idea where your picture is from, but it’s beautiful!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

