Fun Times (part 1)

I have started this post at least fifteen different ways and every one of them have been deleted. I just don’t know how to start. My husband and I have traveled to southern California to visit our family. What a week we had!

It all began with meeting Kim (Learning Tour Writing Stop). What a day we had exploring the Sherman Gardens! So many interesting plants! I felt like I was taking pictures nonstop. At every turn there was something unusual to see.

Our day ended when Kim and I met up with my husband, son, and daughter-in-law at an Irish pub for corned beef tacos. Just saying those words doesn’t sound right, but actually they were quite tasty.

Next we went into active mode. One day there was a hike in the canyon. The next day we rode bikes on a bike path in Irvine. This city has created wonderful biking/walking paths. However, the ride was cut short when my son had a flat tire and we had no spare with us. My husband and I returned to this trail later in the week to ride to the end.

We have been trying all sorts of new food experiences. One night we went to a Peruvian restaurant. I have no idea what we ate but it was good. Another day we went to a new place called Pieology. You go down the line and tell them what you want on your pizza and they build it right in front of you. Yum! Don’t forget the corned beef tacos.

We have been to a birthday party, had a pedicure with my daughter-in-law, took my granddaughter shopping while babysitting, attended the granddaughter’s horse show, and met a friend (plus her family) for dinner.

All this was done in a week. I’m worn out reliving it, but you will have to return next week to find out what we did during the second part of this vacation.

I will leave you with a few photos from this past week.

Isn't this orchid interesting?

Isn’t this orchid interesting?

Did you know that koi love fruit? They really love bananas.

Did you know that koi love fruit? They really love bananas.

Outside the Irish pub, time to say good-bye. :-(

Outside the Irish pub, time to say good-bye. 😦

On our hike, I was going to take a picture of the flower, but look who zoomed into the photo.

On our hike, I was going to take a picture of the flower, but look who zoomed into the photo.

Everyone is rolling along, if we only knew a flat was in our future.

Everyone is rolling along, if we only knew a flat was in our future.

There were three hanging out, but two were shy. I guess they were chatting about the strangers rolling by.

There were three hanging out, but two were shy. I guess they were chatting about the strangers rolling by.

11 thoughts on “Fun Times (part 1)

  1. I am catching up from last week still…having too much to slice about to fit it into one post is the BEST kind of dilemma to have! Your pics always make your slices so much richer. What an exciting vacation–and a slicer meet up to boot!?! On to part two…

  2. That’s just the first part, Elsie? What a busy, busy visit you’ve had. I’m not sure what I think of corned beef tacos! Very fun to hear all about, & to see those pics!

  3. Ramona says:

    So many adventures. And as always, I love the pictures. The picture of the koi, absolutely gorgeous. Enjoyed hopping over to Kim’s blog and reading her post too! Looking forward to meeting you at All Write.

  4. Sounds like a lovely adventure! As always, your pictures and clever captions were a delight! You’ve made me hungry for the Peruvian/Venezuelan restaurant near us… one of my favorite types of food! Did you have any fried plantains? YUM!!! πŸ™‚

  5. All that food sounded amazing and the trip sounds even more amazing. How fun, keep enjoying as you relive it through writing πŸ™‚

  6. Where’s. the corned beef tacos? Wonderful power of journaling an adventure with words and images as usual. Soon we will be doing this in the same place.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

