Where Do You Belong? #24

Check out the picture below, do you notice something missing? Not sure, let me explain a bit further.

cow

I am in my car on a road. The window is down to get a clearer image. What’s missing? A fence you say? Yes, these two bovines are wandering free. I think they may be looking for that elusive greener grass.

Let me back up. I am traveling down a back farm road on my way to get groceries. My mind is busy plotting out my meals for the week as I round a bend. My brain says, “Whoa there! Something is not right in this picture,” as I come to a dead stop. Slowly I back up (don’t want to startle the beasts) to get a better view and to verify there is no fence. The cow looks up at me and moves slightly away, as if to say, “Mind your own business, I know what I’m doing.”

I pause to think what I should do. Do I tell someone or just head on to the store? What would you do? I decide I need to tell someone. I back up more to enter a driveway of the house closest to where the cows are. Hmmm . . .  there isn’t really a front door. There is a door on the side, but there is a treadmill wedged in that space. I continue on to the back deck/porch area. There is a vehicle parked out back, so I figure someone lives here. I knock on the back door. I wait. I wait. No one comes.

I don’t know what else to do, so I leave. The cows are still nibbling. But I will check on the return trip and try again.

Forty-five minutes later, I am returning, but this time I approach slowly. Not a cow in sight! I scan the fields and yards around, but still no cow. Hopefully, the cows are safe, but you know the next time I head down that road, I will be looking for cows on the loose.

18 thoughts on “Where Do You Belong? #24

  1. I know your dilemma of whether to stop or not. We have several places along our way to town that those cows find a way to “greener pastures” and out of the confines of a fence. It feels so strange to come around a curve and meet a cow in the middle of the road!

  2. Like Melanie, I thought the tail was missing too. And then I kept reading. I love that you took the time to stop and try to let someone know that their cows were loose. What a great neighbor! Hope they finally got home!

  3. Wandering cows. Their mental attitude is one of casualness. Glad the cow was not in the road. Had that happen once rounding a bend. Our brakes worked well that day or the damage would have been awful!

  4. Jaana says:

    I was in suspense: is the cow going to be a symbol for something else? Elsie, I never when reading your blog:) Maybe that is why I keep coming back! You keep surprising me.

  5. Ha! I thought the beginning of your post was a trick so I thought that a tail was missing. Elsie, isn’t a tail missing???? I just finished reading Hattie Big Sky where there is a tail-less cow, but I think you have one in your midst, as well. Do you think that the cow without a fence could be a picture book?

  6. As we drive to church we pass a couple of large dairy farms. We laugh at how when we were in Switzerland we stopped to take photos of Swiss cows, but speed right past the Michigan cows,

  7. Bev says:

    What a strange thing – we expect to see fences and when they’re not there we get worried. |Glad hey weren’t in your way on the way back.

  8. Your posts are hysterical, Elsie! You make me want to visit Missouri to see all these fun things you post about! I couldn’t figure out what was missing, but my husband said “a fence!” right away! 🙂

  9. My parents once stopped to herd cows back into their fence. They were returning from a trip and saw that they fence had come unchained and about 50 cows were in the middle of the road. They and another man who stopped helped to get them back inside and re-chain the fence the best they could. I don’t know what these cows think they will do once they get out, but it sure makes for a good story!

  10. I too wonder what happend to them. “Mind your business. I know what I’m doing.” Maybe they had an elaborate plan and you almost foiled it. 🙂

  11. So pretty there Elsie. You must have a lovely drive on the way to the store. Great of you to try. Makes me wonder what happened, however, as I guess you are, too. I thought too that it was going to be another conversation-still remembering yesterday!

  12. Another cow with attitude! What a strange set up you wandered by, Elsie – I have a feeling that you and this creature may well have a reunion soon. I can’t imagine leaving a cow out to pasture in an un-fenced area – they are not the smartest creatures here on God’s green earth!

  13. Ramona says:

    For a minute there, I thought you might be having another questioning conversation with a cow. I envy you this drive to the store with cows along the way. Although my current drive to the store is gorgeous and filled with cherry trees blooming, I’ve yet to see a cow along the way.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

