Spring Takes a Stand #20

Here is a poem that I started working on after our one summer day which was followed by several days of spring-like weather. I thought it would be just right for the start of spring. However, old man winter is having his last laugh as we are predicted to get some measurable snow on Thursday.

 

 

 

Spring heard Summer was pushing her way in.

It wasn’t time for Summer to arrive.

Winter reached his gnarled hand out to hold on,

But Spring pushed him back.

"Did you hear? Spring is on her way!"

“Did you hear? Spring is on her way!”

“This is my time,” she declared in a voice that surprised her with its strength.

Although she knew she was a few days early,

She didn’t let that stop her arrival.

She resembles her sister, Summer, but her warmth is not quite as searing.

She brings healing rains, which will turn the faded yellow grass back to its lush and verdant state.

Her warm breezes encourages leaves to unfurl so that they may sway to the tune of the chirping birds.

Winter wear is stowed as the people embrace the coming of Spring.

Welcome back Spring!

Can you stay awhile?

*******************************************************************************************************

I don’t think spring will be arriving anytime soon at my cousin’s home in Wisconsin. He said he’s still waiting for the January thaw. I think you are out of luck cousin. How about a May thaw?

How many of you are living in a world buried under the white?

How many of you are living in a world buried under the white?

21 thoughts on “Spring Takes a Stand #20

  1. Oh, Spring, where are you???? I think we’re all ready for her arrival. You brought spring to life with your words. Now I’m even more excited for her arrival. Here are a few of my favorite lines:

    “’This is my time,’ she declared in a voice that surprised her with its strength.”

    “She resembles her sister, Summer, but her warmth is not quite as searing.”

    Cathy

  2. such a cute poem! I love the way you play with personification in nature, Elsie! No major snow here, although there were flurries in the air today as I was driving home from school!

  3. unfortunately, we are still living in a world buried under the white. I loved your poem though; I would have never thought to personify the seasons the way you did with one pushing the other out of the way, and all of them wanting those few extra days.

  4. Wow-that snow picture is amazing, Elsie. I think Colorado is about as far north as I ever want to live. January thaw needed fast! Love your poem, the voice and the conflict among those three stubborn seasons. I have just about given up my winter coat, but this morning, I was cold on the way to work, until my car warmed. We have snow coming, and may have it through April-we can always use the moisture! Love the daffodils-my crocus is up!

  5. Snow is predicted for the weekend…the last couple of days have looked so spring-like, bright and sunshiny, breezy- but COLD. I’m anxious for Sister Spring to come and stay!

  6. This is a beautiful poem! I too wish Spring would step up her efforts a little more. It’s snowing outside my window as I type. My daughter is counting down the days until she won’t have to wear those dreaded snow pants any longer. Where are you hiding Miss Spring?

  7. "Raskoinikov" says:

    Great poem. The flower is a sight for sore eyes! Yesterday we had more snow, 7 degrees, and winds that blew the new snow across the tops of the snow banks, on to the streets…it’s like living on the set for a bad remake of Dr. Zhivago.

  8. “Winter reached his gnarled hand out to hold on,
    But Spring pushed him back.
    “This is my time,” she declared in a voice that surprised her with its strength.”
    I so adore it when you use personifications. May Spring push her way through again soon.

  9. Judy C. says:

    What a wonderful poem. Spring (seemed like summer) last week and now this forecast. Yuk. And what are we doing over Michelle’s spring break? Driving north – winter clothes are being packed (not yet put away). Thanks for your words put to verse.

  10. Ramona says:

    I love your poems! Hopefully, Spring manages to slap old man winter’s attempt to squeeze in where he’s clearly unwanted.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

