My Best Part #18

Yesterday I left the post pondering what is my best part? It is so easy to pick out the parts that I’d like to change, but that’s not the task.

I could pick my hair color. I had brownish hair growing up. I didn’t think there was anything special about the color.  It was what it was. I thought I wanted it to be lighter, but this was long before highlighting hair was done. Once I sat out in the sun, at the top of a slide in a park near my home, because someone told me the sun would bleach my hair. It didn’t.

In my twenties a gray hair was discovered mixed into the browns, but I didn’t bother it. I was too poor to go to the beauty shop for color. I looked at hair color products once, but found them confusing, so I walked away. Pulling the hair was not an option, I did not need to inflict pain upon my scalp. So the only option was leave it alone.

More and more gray hairs joined the first and eventually they took over. However, when I looked in the mirror, I didn’t see gray, I still saw brown. Finally I had to admit I had gray hair when the hair on the floor of the salon looked as though Jack Frost had moved indoors (although I still see brown under the gray).

I have come to appreciate my color. Once I was shopping in Walmart when a lady (stranger to me) came up to me and asked, “Who does your hair? I love that color and that’s the color I want.”

I looked at her confused. What did she mean I thought. I replied, “I guess you could say God does my hair, because I don’t color it.” She walked off disappointed.

It's hard to take a picture of yourself.

It’s hard to take a picture of yourself.

But although my hair color is a great part, it is not the part I think is the best.

I have always loved the color of my eyes. They are green. Sometimes they are green-ish. But they are never blue or brown. My brothers and sister  have brown eyes. I have green. I am different from them. This is something that makes me unique in the family.

I love the flecks of amber that appear mixed in with the green. Maybe there are times they are hazel colored. But they are never blue or brown.

Green has always been my favorite color. I think it started with my eyes. The best part of me is my green eyes.

You can't really see the color, but they are green. Not blue or brown.

You can’t really see the color, but they are green. Not blue or brown.

21 thoughts on “My Best Part #18

  1. Tiffy says:

    I love your writing LC! I have to say, after knowing you for as long as I have, it’s your heart I love about you!

  2. Green eyes and spirited haircut. Cool! I think there is magic in the color of your eyes, you have shown your incredible ability to notice things and creatures around you. Loved this post.

  3. As someone who is rapidly moving from brown hair to gray, I loved hearing about someone else’s graying journey. And I loved hearing about your best feature, your green eyes. Trying to think how I would answer that question…Thanks for such an honest and brave post!

  4. What a great message Elsie! I enjoyed reading a slice of you and love that you are thinking of the positive things about yourself! My husband, 4 kids and I all have blue eyes…we like that they are all the same color but very different looking. Maybe a post for another day!

  5. Great slice, Elsie. Thanks for sharing the best parts of you. I love the description of your hair. I used to color mine and then I decided the heck with it. I’m a Grandma and it should be gray. But more brown with a hint of gray. My eyes turn colors depending on the colors I wear – most days blue, but some days green. Thanks for your insight!

  6. I love this…my best part…and you are doing this so well. I think it would be difficult, but it is something we all need to do. I love how you said Jack Frost moved indoors. I went through the same thought process as you with my hair. It was blond but kept getting darker…kind of the what people called….dirty blond or mousy….really great descriptions…so I started saying it was the color of wheat. It did highlight on its own in the summer…but I was way too lazy to bother having it colored…kind of like…this is the color…so be it. Now it is brown, with a tiny bit of gray. When I do turn gray…please, let it be like yours….it is beautiful!!! And your eyes…I love green eyes…maybe that is because I have green eyes too…and there are not a whole lot of us out there. So enjoying your posts. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  7. Tam says:

    Your hair is in reverse–gray on the ends and dark near the scalp–looks like expert salon work to me, too! Interesting about the eyes. I think we have the same color eyes and it was always my best feature, too, especially when I was younger and fat!!! I think I will post about my best part, too. Thanks for being my mentor.

  8. Such a sweetly reflective post. There’s such power in picking parts of ourselves to love even when the world wants us to feel like weren’t not enough. Green eyes are beautiful. Good choice! I love it how you talked us through your selection…

  9. So when I mention and link a post it lands up in the comments area. 🙂 Okay. Even though I wrote about something else, I am also thinking about THE BEST PART OF ME, and like you I can’t answer that simply. I love how you talk about your hair, your eyes… and your photos are so real!
    I am thinking about spirit…face…embracing it all… my next slice is coming…
    thanks for the inspiration, Elsie.

  10. It’s wonderful that you followed up with that previous post for yourself, Elsie. You’re right, I can’t see the green, but I do love green eyes in every person I know. They are seldom seen, & I know yours must be beautiful. I like your hair too & got a chuckle because when I started having gray hair, I didn’t think it had changed either until a student remarked saying “what color would you say your hair is, Linda?”, being very polite! It was an ah-ha moment. Thanks for a sweet reflective post.

  11. I love the way you described your eyes – no wonder you love the colors, they sound like eyes you can really get lost in looking at all the different shades and flecks of color. One of my students has a green eye and a blue eye – it is so difficult to conference with him sometimes, because those eyes are just mesmerizing. I look upon my own gray hairs as evidence of gravitas, my eyes? With one corneal transplant down and one to go…all I can say is, they sort of work, and that’s that!

  12. What a nice thing to do for yourself!!! I like it. We need to focus on the best of us. We really don’t need to keep harping at ourselves about what we don’t like. Change what you can and love what you can’t! I’m going to look at something today. You know my ankles aren’t too bad!!!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

