A Sign #14

sign

Are you thinking “What is this all about?” That’s exactly what I thought the first time I encountered this sign.

It is sitting on the guest registration desk of a motel where I stay at when I work with one school district. The first time I was startled by the message. Have you ever planned to clean fish in a motel room? I can honestly say I have never had even the slightest desire to clean a fish, let alone in a motel room.  What prompted this motel to plant this thought in the guest’s head?

Obviously I was unaware of the landscape in the surrounding area. When it was revealed to me that there was a lake nearby I started to grasp the meaning and purpose of this sign. So what you are telling me is that this is a lake that has fish in it. Apparently it is used by fishermen who do not live nearby. These fishing folk must find lodging because they fish for more than a single day.

Now I see the reason for this sign. Once the fish are caught, they must be cleaned. But do it elsewhere this motel says. The maid does not want to find fish guts in the trash tomorrow.

This leads me to question the fishermen. What do you do to keep the fish fresh? There are no refrigerators in the room. Are you draining the ice machine for your cooler? How long can you keep them that way? Doesn’t the room reek of fish? Why do you think I would want to breathe fish after you leave?

So thank you management for preventing this problem. I have never had a hint of fish in any of the rooms I have occupied. I hope this sign was a result of being proactive and not reactive.

22 thoughts on “A Sign #14

  1. Your voice is loud and clear in this slice. I love your playful response to the odd sign. It reminds me of the list of rules at the miniature gold course in Shusterman’s Bruiser–each rule prompted by a previous wrongdoing, of course. What a terrible thought–I am sitting in a hotel room right now. Makes me wonder what small dead animals have ever graced it with their presence. Eww.

  2. Fascinating! Sadly, your hopes about the sign’s cause probably aren’t true! Signs like that (and rules like that) usually come about only because someone did it once! Ugh! 🙂

  3. Phillip says:

    Stand-by for protests from ‘fish cleaning rights’ organizations!! How dare you discriminate against a practice as old as time!! (while not the ‘oldest profession’, I’m sure fishing and fish cleaning come in a close second!)

  4. That is funny! I suppose if your motel is by a lake full of fish, you’ve got to expect that there will be fish in the rooms. I’m glad the rooms don’t smell of fish. That would send me packing, for sure.

  5. Thank you for sharing his amusing slice. I must admit that I have never seen this sign before. I don’t know if I would want to stay at a motel with this sign for fear of what may be lurking around in the room. Yuck!!

  6. mrssurridge says:

    What a great inference lesson! When I first saw your sign I had all the same questions. HUH? But as you explained it and I was able to see it from the view of the motel, it makes perfect sense. Wouldn’t it be fun to give the students a sign like this and see if they can make a reasonable story out of it? Great slice!

  7. So funny!!! I have never seen such a sign either…and the visions of you pulling a fish out of the lake and giving it a bath!!! Since I don’t like fish of any kind…to eat….I do enjoy watching them…they are beautiful….but the thought of people cleaning fish in a motel room…yucky.

  8. Tam says:

    Good story, nicely told. I’m sure it has happened, but I think they would have caught just one or two (people, not fish!) and that was enough for this sign. Yes, how would they keep the fish? Maybe there’s a fire pit in the back of the hotel!

  9. Lynn says:

    Yuck is all I can say! What would a person be thinking to think it would be ok to clean a fish in the motel room! But then again nothing would surprise me 😉

  10. Judy C. says:

    Thanks for my morning laugh. I’ve never seen a sign such as this and I can only imagine the maid coming into a room and finding the remains. I’m sure it must have happened once and, thus, the sign. I’ll have to keep a look out for some of these special signs.

  11. I actually have seen those signs since I have some fishermen in my family and the idea of walking into a room that has even TWO scales is gross since even ONE scale smells. I just wrote on Linda’s blog–so many places to find writing ideas and stories. Thanks for another one!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

