Sunrise #13

The good thing about the time change is once and awhile I can catch a sunrise.

The day is dark as I begin my daily task in March. My robe is wrapped tightly to warm me in the early hour of the day as the heat slowly brings the cooled house to a warmer temperature. Coffee is brewing as I settle into the couch with the computer on my lap. I must get today’s post finalized and published. One last check of the written words before clicking on Publish. Copy and paste the link and my coffee is ready.

Once again, I settle back into the couch, quick sip from the steaming cup while I click to find a plethora of slices to read. There are some seriously early posters. After reading/commenting on a few, I happen to look up. On a diagonal line from my perch, there is a window facing the east. A sphere of pink has crept into my line of vision.

I read another slice. I glance at the window, wondering what will have changed in the last two minutes. The pinks have radiated out and purple stripes are floating across the sky. Slowly blue begins to filter between the pinks and purples,  claiming its piece of the sky.

Quickly I grab the phone, head out into the back yard to preserve the colors. Just in those few moments, the colors are dissolving as the daylight enters. Nature has a way of waking one up with a smile.

sun

sunrise

19 thoughts on “Sunrise #13

  1. mrssurridge says:

    I am reading this as I am ready to end my day. Your post made me look forward to catching the sunrise in the morning…and the hot coffee.

  2. The only good thing about getting up so early for school every morning is catching the sunrise. The one this morning was beautiful here in CT as well! It’s always good to remember the benefits to waking up early.

  3. What a gorgeous sunrise to catch. Thanks for posting the picture!

    BTW: I kept seeing your name on student slices yesterday. Thanks for being such an avid commenter on the kids’ slices (as well as the adult ones).

  4. Gorgeous! I love sunrises, and they are one of the only things that can bring a smile to my face in the mornings! (I hate mornings!!!) Thank you for sharing nature’s artwork with us, elsie!

  5. Initially, I dislike the time change – only because it is so dark when I get up. But as I’m sitting, sipping my cup of coffee and working a crossword, I look up and see the same pinks turning to purple turning to blue. I love the mornings.

  6. Tam says:

    I can hardly wait until those morning are seen almost every day and the coffee can be carried out to the porch. Yes, nature is a wondrous thing.

  7. What a lovely sight! Your descriptions were sublime, Elsie – and I could not help but play around with your poetic words to create this:

    A sphere of pink has crept into my line of vision
    The pinks have radiated out
    and purple stripes are floating across the sky.
    Slowly
    blue begins to filter between the pinks and purples,
    claiming its piece of the sky.
    Colors are dissolving as the daylight enters.
    Nature has a way of waking one up
    with a smile.

    Thanks for sharing your sunrise…and for your poem!

  8. margaretsmn says:

    There’s something comforting about thinking we are all doing this together in the morning, publishing, reading posts, drinking coffee, and watching the sun rise. We are a community. I love the thought that nature wakes us up with a smile. I hope I can keep smiling all day in response.

  9. Gail Stevens says:

    Beautiful.

    This is my favorite part of the day. The early morning quiet is divine.

    Congratulations on getting your slice posted before most are awake : )

Thanks for taking time to comment.

