My Perch #8

When writing blog posts or comments, it is necessary to be comfortable. This is my nest . Let me explain what you see.

spot

The couch is leather, therefore it is cold. In the summer that is acceptable. In the winter it is not acceptable. Cold seeping through the rear end sends chills to all parts of the body. It is to be avoided at all costs. That is why a folded soft comforter is the barrier between my rear and the leather. Two pillows are required to support my back. Every now and then, they need fluffing.

Are you wondering about the items that look like mittens? They are fingerless gloves that a very dear friend knits for me each year. My hands get cold typing or even when reading the paper. When I wear them, my hands stay warm, but yet my fingers have the freedom to move across the keyboard or pop at treat (perhaps ย an almond or chocolate covered blueberry) ย into my mouth.

The laptop sits on a white board so it has a firm surface and the fan vents don’t get blocked by the fabric of my clothes. Of course there are power cords nearby to keep the computer, phone, and ipad happy.

The ottoman coffee table in front of the couch is at a perfect distance so I can prop my feet up. An iced tea rests on a coaster. ย One needs to stay hydrated when participating in the challenge. Unfortunately the paperwhite flowers are artificial, but they do bring a touch of spring into the room. (The real ones were not good for my husband’s allergies.)

Are you in a warm and comfortable location?

24 thoughts on “My Perch #8

  1. I love the nest, looks cozy. I am currently wrapped up in my robe and blanket in “my spot” on the couch when slicing/commenting. Occasionally I change it up and go to the kitchen table, but on a Saturday morning the warm couch is my first choice!

  2. I am now happy to be able to picture you sitting in your space writing every time I read one of your posts. Sounds like the perfect place to write.

  3. I enjoy getting a glimpse into someone’s “spot.” It’s sort of like a peek into a writer’s notebook! It’s personal, comfy and inspiring. I’m sitting at my kitchen table…hard wooden chair…not quite the good thing you have going!

  4. What a fun look at your “nest”! This reminds me of a post Ruth did last year where she described how each part of her outfit revealed something about her personality. I think this would be a fun slice to try myself sometime! (I’m sitting in my “nest” right now, wondering what I would right about it…)

  5. Jaana says:

    I like the contrasts: mittens and blanket to keep the outside body parts warm, and ice tea to keep the insides cool when writing! No wonder you brain is at the ultimate temperature for writing and creating!

  6. I get it–because I’m much the same. ๐Ÿ™‚ I too do not like a leather surface because the rear end is a tremendous conductor of cold. I also have an ottoman close enough for feet to be propped. I do, however, prefer warm beverages in cold weather, and I do wish I had a friend who made fingerless gloves. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thank you for sharing this–from my sofa to yours!

  7. I had not thought of fingerless gloves for cold hands while typing – brilliant! My writing location today – a 3 year old’s chair in my classroom. Not exactly comfy. I have writing room envy! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Phillip says:

    Aah, well, those ARE ways of dealing with the cold. But, perhaps this is a “teachable” moment via your weak- minded (but perhaps ‘other-experienced’) northern readers. TURN UP THE HEAT! LIGHT A FIRE! THROW ANOTHER LOG ON THE FIRE!. (just whatever you do, DON’T get one of those horrible, ugly ‘Snugglie’ as seen on TV) (They are mood killers of the worst sort). Oh, and fingerless gloves are just WAY TOO Jane Austin for the 21st Century.
    Love as always!

  9. I like seeing different writing places as much as seeing notebooks. Thank you for sharing and the explanation. I sit in a corner of a kitchen on an old wooden chair behind a kitchen table. Not a comfy place but also not crowded. living room couch would be comfortable, but the rest of the family is usually also there.

    • luckygurl says:

      I agree with Terje! Wouldn’t it be fun if we all posted pics of our writing spots? This post wasn’t just illustrative, it was also inspiring somehow… I think about you, treating yourself to every physical comfort so you can immerse yourself fully in your work… and it inspires me to go do the same and WRITE! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Like others…glad you put the picture and then described each part. I was wondering about the plant as my cat would have chewed it up if I had one on the coffee table. It looks nice and I was envious that you could have a plant placed there. I wonder what others’ blog writing spots look like?

  11. It sounds like you have the perfect writing spot!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I like how you described the different areas. I think for me, my bed is my most comfortable writing spot, especially when the AC is on and I’m underneath my comforter.

  12. Tam says:

    Aha! The infamous writing perch! What a great post and perch for a writer. I was thinking about leather chairs–mmmmm–cold does not appeal to me in winter. Love the high back of the couch and the flowers. I’ve thought about those fingerless mittens. My fingers and feet are cold all winter long! You’ve given me a lot of things to think about–thanks, Elsie.

  13. Judy C. says:

    Looks and sounds nice and cozy. The only thing missing is a glass of wine (only if its late afternoon or evening) and a blazing fire.

  14. How fun to get the behind the scenes story. I can just see you there all cozied in, writing, reading and reflecting. This is like the V.I.P. tour! My ipad is so portable that I read, write and reflect in many different places.

  15. I’m envious. Most of my posts are composed at the computer in my home office. Sometimes I do have a cup of tea nearby, but nothing as cozy as your nest. I’ve fought the good fight against a leather couch for years, summers are too short and cool weather sticks around for far too long in the Northwest.

  16. I love the fact that you added your text to this image. I needed your context. I’m writing from TUvia’s kitchen table. Warm, very warm. In fact, I watching my hot cup of coffee steam.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

