Let the Fun Begin #1

If you would have told me three years ago that I would be a blogger, I would have said you were nuts. I doubt I even really knew what made something a blog. I read some blogs occasionally but none regularly. I had not discovered the subscribe button. Plus, I would have told you, you need to be a writer if you are going to write a blog. I was not a writer. But that all changed after I found Two Writing Teachers.

They amazed me with their knowledge and passion for teaching writing. Plus, they shared that information freely. You could even talk to them via the comment box! To me, that was like talking to a rock star (and they still are rock stars in the world of education).

I had to become a writer to be authentic when I worked with teachers on how to incorporate writing workshop in their classrooms. My first task was to set up the blog. Then I planned to join the challenge, but first I dabbled for a few months. It helped me get my feet wet, but that didn’t prepare me for the pressure of posting every day. I searched my day high and low to find something that I thought was worthy of writing. What I discovered was I didn’t have to look very far, just a little deeper into my life. Of course that year was easier because we went on a river cruise down the Danube for two weeks. If you can’t find something interesting every day, you are not looking very hard. I’m so glad I was able to record small moments of that trip.

Last year I worried if I’d be able to find something every day. That worry evaporated as the month moved on. By the end of the month I still had a couple of ideas that I hadn’t used. On April 1 I wondered where did the month go?

So this is my third year, I look forward to writing, sharing, reading, and commenting all month. I hope you will join in. This becomes addictive. The comments fuel you to write something that is entertaining or thought provoking. The other slices fuel you with ideas that you can try too.

Thank you Stacey and Ruth. You have allowed the writer in me to grow. Elsie will continue to try writing.

31 thoughts on “Let the Fun Begin #1

  1. I’m catching up on my favorite slicers today. Coming to your blog is always so comforting to me. We started together and I need to get back to my “roots”. Thanks for your writing and for your comments. Here’s to a great month of blogging.

  2. Your THIRD YEAR? Are you KIDDING ME, Elsie?!?!?! I have had you pegged as the Greatest Veteran! I come to your word as though you have spent a lifetime perfecting it, and I am never disappointed! THREE YEARS?!?! Now that I am starting my fourth, I am wondering why I don’t sound like you!! 🙂 Shucks… I guess I will just have to keep writing because apparently I, apparently, am a slower developer!!! Can’t wait to watch you write this month!!

  3. Elizabeth G says:

    Oh Elsie….you speak the truth. I couldn’t agree with you more…the comments, the striving to be crafty and intriguing with what you share, the small slices that appear when you stop and look. I grow because of this challenge and because of inspiring writers like you. I look forward to another year of reading your post.

  4. So glad you are back! My favorite part of slicing is all the nice people I have met! I worry every year about whether I can really pull this off- whether I have enough to say, whether I have time, etc., and then all of a sudden, it’s April 1st and I’ve done it! Can’t wait to see how it unfolds this year! Happy slicing!

  5. I have always loved your blog title and I especially love the way you play with it as your conclusion to this post. How fun to be reminded of your trip down the Danube–I felt like I took that journey vicariously. It amazes me how these posts, this month of being immersed results in all these threads, connecting us over miles and years.

  6. I’m so glad Elsie is going to continue to try writing. I love how you talk about Stacey and Ruth!!! It’s so true – they are rock stars! I sure hope they know that . . . what an amazing community they created all through sharing words.

    Looking forward to another word-tastic March!

  7. Thank you for your comment on my post. I hope I didn’t leave a bad first impression. A cruise down the Danube sounds so nice! Looking forward to your future posts.

  8. Considering how I think of you as a blogging mentor, I can’t believe you never thought of yourself as a writer! Your engaging voice and unique descriptive style are incredible. When I started slicing, you (along with Linda and Deb) kept me going with your inspiring writing and your encouraging comments. It was really fun to hear the journey that got you here!

  9. I never thought I’d be a blogger either. I have put my toe into the writerly life waters here and there but never really put anything out there for others to read until the SOL challenge last year. It changed the way I teach and it changed how I see my self as a writer. This is a special place with special people who are encouraging and sustaining…thank you for being one of those people with your comments.

  10. This becomes addictive…how true, how true! So many “friends I’ve never met,”(to borrow Pamela’s phrase) in this writing community have come to mean so much to me. Their encouragemnt and shared ideas enrich my life.

  11. Jaana says:

    I am so excited to read post everyday–and write too! Your posts are always interesting. You notice the small things that tend to go right by me; I am working on getting better…..

  12. I love that you look deeper into your life to find what to post. Just thinking about this challenge has already made me look more deeply and think harder. Monday is our blog’s first birthday (WOW!) and we worried so much about not having enough to write. Somehow, we always have something to write about our lives as teachers and the whole process has made me a better writer, a better coach, and a better teacher of writing. I’m so looking forward to your posts, as well as everyone else’s.

  13. I feel a bit more worried about it this year than last…possibly because I think that I have improved because of quantity. My life as a teacher of writing has vastly improved…because of this community. I couldn’t be more grateful for your comments, you absolutely are my ‘kindred spirit’. I’m wondering what is going on in your backyard right now 🙂 xo

  14. My dear friend Elsie who I have never met. You were the first person to subscribe to my blog. You beat out my husband even. He is the second subscriber. Last year was my first Slice of Life. Your comments encouraged me to keep writing. I wrote for a month last March, and every Tuesday since. I am back again this year.
    Thank you Elsie. You helped me continue to write with your kind words.
    I look forward to hearing more or your adventures this March.
    Will there be any strawberries at the discount store?
    What will you find on your daily walk?
    Will the birds build a nest in the same bush this year?
    xo
    Pamela

  15. I always find it fascinating to learn about how people started slicing and build a habit that has benefited them in so many ways. This is my third year as well and in looking back at old posts to share with students, I too am so thankful that I have those writings about small moments I may have otherwise missed! Keep up the good work!

  16. Elsie, I think you might be wrong about one thing. You have always been a writer. It’s been in in your heart a long time, you just took the time to let it out.

  17. I love slicing with you Elsie…and you are right about the feeling come April 1: just when you are in the swing and CAN slice every day!

  18. This is an excellent post to share with folks about this Two Writing Teachers’ challenge. You succinctly express what many of us feel. I love your opening, “If you would have told me three years ago that I would be a blogger, I would have said you were nuts.” I’m right there with you!! Here’s to 31 days of slicing!

  19. Tam says:

    “Worthy of writing” is always my problem, focusing on measuring up. But your words of “look deeper” speaks to me so much more–not measuring up, but looking for meaning/importance in life to me. Thanks, Elsie, for your thoughts. I am so tickled to have you as my go to person. I didn’t realize you have only done this for 3 years–you would have fooled me. I’ve had you on suscribe for quite a while–always enjoying your walks.

  20. Judy C. says:

    I think your slice speaks for the majority of this community. It’s that initial jump that we have made and found it addictive and habitual. I still wonder where I found something to write about each day last March and then every Tuesday since, but it seems that life does give us those moments. I thoroughly enjoy your slices and can’t wait to see what you have in store for this March. Thanks.

  21. How blessed I have been by your observations (those flirty pansies talk to me whenever I see their California relatives, for example). It is not only that it is your thoughtful comments that appear through out our slices. BUT the best was actually visiting with you in person, what a treat! Carry on friend!

  22. I lurked at Two Writing Teachers and then plunged in with my very first slice last year on March 1. I love joining you on your walks, your bike rides, and your cruises! Your comments continue to encourage my writing journey.

  23. So many of us continue together, Elsie. It’s been so great getting to know you, & hear about your life, the ups & downs, your walks & trips. Thanks for all, & your comments, too. Fun, fun-right?

Thanks for taking time to comment.

