A Meeting in Singapore!

Hello friends! I’ve been on the other side of the world for the past few weeks. Last night I got home from a cruise that began in Singapore and ended in Hong Kong. This trip also took us to Bangkok, Ho Chi Minh City, Danang, and Hanoi. Oh my, what a different world it is!

A highlight of the trip was getting to meet Jee Young in Singapore. I contacted her and we agreed to meet up for breakfast. Fortunately she offered to come to my hotel, so I didn’t have to negotiate unfamiliar territory on my own. We met in the lobby and headed out to have some toast. This seems to be a very common breakfast item in Singapore. This toast is not made from regular sliced bread, but the bread is more like Texas toast. We went over to one of Jee Young’s favorite malls for our toast and Singapore tea. Singapore is a city of mega-malls. These malls have multiple levels and most of them are underground.

After settling in with the tea and peanut butter toast, we chatted or should I say I pelted Jee Young with question after question. I think teaching in international schools is fascinating. So I wanted to know all about it, plus an interesting side note is my husband actually attended the high school where Jee Young is teaching fifth grade. He lived in Singapore for a year over forty years ago. He attended Singapore American School (SAS) during his junior year of high school.

I had mentioned this to Jee Young in an email, so she brought me an SAS coffee mug and T-shirt. How sweet was that? Thanks again Jee Young. My husband was touched by your gifts from SAS.

Our time passed quickly and soon I had to return to the hotel to check out and head to the cruise ship to check in there. Meeting up with a cyberspace friend is so fun. It is amazing the connections and friendships we have developed through this community. Thank you to Stacey and Ruth!

jee

Merry Christmas to all and I will be back to share more details of this trip, but now jet lag is setting in and I can’t think.

 

11 thoughts on “A Meeting in Singapore!

  1. Jaana says:

    I am catching up on my comments…I am so glad you got to meet with Jee Young. I treasure meeting Terje in Estonia last summer. Plus I have special memories from my time in Singapore.

  2. How happy this made me. I am amazed at where your adventures take you.
    Then naturally it made me think of the time we got to meet 🙂 which was such a joy. You are such a beacon of good will and show the value of the connections we make here through SOLS! Merry Christmas blessings and may you be revived by rest.

  3. Hi Elsie!! I really enjoyed meeting with you~!! I will put my post about our meeting in next week’s slice of life post!!! I’m in Korea now for vacation~! 🙂 I can’t wait to hear about the rest of your Asia adventures.
    –Jee Young

  4. It’s a small world! I can’t believe the connection with your husband. What are the odds? Thanks for sharing such a BIG little moment from your trip. I have to admit, my first thought in the looking at the photo was that in my Midwest heart, the shorts just don’t go with the Christmas tree in the background!

  5. What a fabulous trip! I’ll look forward to more trip updates when you’ve rested up. I still have the great contour farming photos you shared with me from last summer’s trip. I hope you come to the NW some day so that we can meet in person! I promise to meet you at your hotel and even give you a quick Seattle tour!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

