Pandora Pizza

Is it a sign that trouble may be brewing if a pizza is called Pandora?

One Saturday my husband and I went to my favorite pizza place for our usual order: two diet Cokes, one large Greek salad, and one medium Black and Blue pizza, oops I mean Pandora. The salad came fairly quickly. I divided it between two plates and we consumed it. The plates were whisked away, drinks refilled, and we waited. . . and waited . . . and you know the rest.

As we waited, we could watch the pizza preparation area. It’s a fascinating beehive of activity. Pizzas going in the ovens, pizzas moving from the bottom to the top oven, pizzas going into boxes. We marveled at how they were able to keep track of the pizzas throughout their various stages.

As we watched, we noticed a new step to this pizza dance. A pizza came out of the oven, but the oven master cannot locate a home for the pizza. First he puts it into a box, but there is no paper for it. The pizza moves to a metal tray, again no paper. Confusion is all over the pizza man’s face. He flips through the boxes again, he juggles the pans, lifting and looking for that elusive paper. He asks several of the pizza assemblers if they know where this pizza is to go. They shrug and move on.

“I bet that is our pizza,” I predict to my husband. We watch as workers come to probe the pizza to determine what kind it is. Now you may be wondering what the waitress is doing during this time. She is standing around, waiting, she takes out her phone and checks it, she brings pizzas to other tables near us. She does not say, “I will check on your order.” Meanwhile this pizza has moved from one end of the table to the other end. Finally, it is shoved to the side.

I stopped the waitress as she whisked by our table, “You might check on our pizza. There’s one that’s been floating around back there,” I tell her. She goes to investigate. We continue to watch the saga unfold.She realizes this is our missing pizza.Β The owner is called in. He brings the now cold pizza to our table with profuse apologies. They will make us a new pizza, do we want this one too? Not really, since we watched everyone poking it. So another twenty minutes pass before we have our fresh hot Pandora pizza.

Good thing we didn’t have to be anywhere that evening, because we would have been late. It is a tasty pizza, but I’m sure it will be a while before we go back.

FYI: the toppings on the Pandora are Greek sausage, pepperoni, sliced tomatoes, black olives, and blue cheese (plus mozzarella cheese). So good to have that tangy hint from the blue cheese.

17 thoughts on “Pandora Pizza

  1. hahaha, so funny that you were watching them the whole time, and knew that it was your pizza when they didn’t! πŸ™‚ Sounds like quite the intriguing pizza! Hope it was worth the wait!

    I gave you a “Liebster award” — check out the description on my post today!

  2. Prodded, poked and then rejected pizza. This was fun to read. I loved all the stages of your rejected pizza and glad you finally got your dinner, sounds delicious!

  3. Judy C. says:

    Elsie, you have once again drawn me into your slice and pizzeria. There are some advantages of being able to see the workings of the kitchen. Glad you got a hot pizza and I, too, agree it should have been on the house!

  4. Lori says:

    I love to sit and watch the workings of the kitchen. I think my days as a waitress make me able to take the craziness of a primary classroom!

  5. I loved the way your writerly self sat back Nd took notes even as the hungry-as-a-bear part of you yearned for someone in that joint to get their act together and bring that delicious pizza over to you…pronto!

  6. Ah, poked pizza! At least you saw what it went through. Poor thing. I’m glad you got a fresh, hot pizza…but it should have been “on the house” after all that! Good story.

  7. I think the manager should have comped your meal. This has happened to me with food before, where the confusion is observed but the solution is not quickly listened to. Once again your storytelling captured me.

  8. Terje says:

    Don’t get me wrong, I am sorry that you had to wait for the pizza, but at the same time I’m glad it happened to you, because it gave you ingredients for a delicious slice. Did you record some of what you observed already at the pizzeria?

Thanks for taking time to comment.

