Squeaky Wheel in the Backyard

In a previous life, I think I must have been a cat. I savor lounging in a pool of sunlight. When I find a spot, I luxuriate in the sun’s warmth. Slowly this warmth fades in the fall but there are moments when I can grab on to the warmth before winter blows in.

Recently there was a day full of sunshine with little wind. I hustled myself to the patio in the backyard to enjoy that glorious sunshine while reading a book one afternoon. Slowly I became aware of a squeaky wheel sound. As I looked out from my lounging position, I could not see anything in the yard. I recognized the sound,  it was a flock of birds chattering, but where were they? They were all talking at once and each one was trying to be heard above the one next to them.

My eyes moved from one tree to the next, looking for this flock. They were well hidden as they chatted about where they had been and what was good to eat in this neighborhood. The leatherleaf viburnum bush (it is at least 12 feet high) in the corner of the yard quivered with life. I knew I had discovered the source of the squeaky wheel. Quietly I walked to the bush, looking for the birds. As I got closer to the bush, the voices died away. They held their breath, waiting to see what I would do. I held my breath, waiting to see what the birds would do. All of a sudden, they flew out of the back of the bush landing on the power lines above and in the trees behind us. I think their chattering now was about that annoying woman who disrupted their hidden location.

Soon the viburnum will lose all its leaves and the birds will no longer be able to hide as they sit and chat. I will no longer be able to enjoy the warmth of the sun on the patio. I now wait for the return of those warm days in the spring.

13 thoughts on “Squeaky Wheel in the Backyard

  1. Like several others, I feel like I’m right there in the backyard with you! And I’d definitely be chasing that patch of sun with my chair and my book!

  2. I always love when you consider the animals’ (and plants’, sometimes!) point of view! It’s funny to think of you as “that annoying woman” who bothered the birds. Your nature posts are my favorites! 🙂

  3. Oh how I long for those sunny days as well..but the birds…they kinda creep me out. I think it was because my brothers made me watch that Hitchcock movie when I was little. LOL

  4. This is so descriptive and engaging. I feel the sun’s warmth. I hear the squeaky wheel sound. I see the bush in the corner of the yard quivered with life. I hold my breath, too. It is a pleasant journey.

  5. I was theren with you, Elsie…basking in the sun and wondering about the noise….As it snows outside, I, too, long for spring sunshine and warmth.

  6. Terje says:

    What an opening sentence! Are you sure that the birds saw a woman? May be they saw your cat essence and that’s why they flew away. Thoroughly enjoyable piece. For me it had a voice of a cat.

  7. Hi Elsie, love the description of you sneaking up on those birds, & then their quiet. Isn’t it great? I suspect they will be back. We have a bush where many sparrows hang out, even when it’s leafless. And love that you grabbed the sun when you could. Not many of those in December!

  8. Lynn says:

    I so agree, you writing is so visual I feel like I was on the porch with you! Isn’t it amazing how the quiet of nature can also be almost deafening but in a very very good way!

  9. Judy C. says:

    I had to laugh when you compared yourself to a cat, but I too gravitate to the sun. I think I was on the back deck soaking up the sun while reading a book on that same day. And I know what you mean about all the birds, however, ours are woodpeckers pecking on the house!

  10. So glad you can still find a day of sunshine and warmth in November! I loved absorbing it with you and joining you on the patio to read, listen, and discover. Lovely slice!

  11. Nancy Hatcher says:

    A fantastic piece that I was able to visualize. I also loved your comparison to a cat. November in Illinois really has been glorious, but alas, clouds have come wandering in…our typical November waiting for the lights of the Christmas season. XO nanc

Thanks for taking time to comment.

