Journey of Frustration

For years doctors have told me that my thyroid has not been functioning properly, but it was never at the point of requiring medication. All that changed during my physical this year. The number had finally gotten to the point where medication would be needed to put me back on track. Sigh . . . I had enjoyed my carefree-no-medications-required lifestyle.

There was the trial period of six weeks to monitor the dosage. Yes, this dosage is yielding the right results. Do you want a mail order three month supply? Absolutely, the medication comes to me. Sounds like a good plan. I give the doctor’s office the name of the one my husband uses and they will set it up. Then I wait . . . and wait . . . and still no pills arrive. I am down to a few pills so I contact the doctor’s office for a local refill and inquire about the mail order. The secretary gives me a number to call so I can see where my pills are.

The person I talk to has no record of my prescription but she gives me another number to call. I call and it is the same story, we don’t know you and we have no pills for you. Argggghhhh!!! Why is this so hard? Why can’t I get these pills?

I can contact the doctor through an email system. So I very politely explain the situation and request my prescription be sent to Sam’s Club (I’m done with mail order). A few short hours later I have a message saying “Check with your pharmacy later today.” Yes, finally an end, but no that was not to be.

Later I get another message saying your prescription is called into CVS. What?! Who decided CVS and which one (there are several in town)? Again I contact the doctor and inquire as to the status of my prescription. At this time I am out of town, so it will have to wait until I return home. Once I am home, I set out to visit the pharmacy, first I go to CVS. They have never heard of me, they have no record of a prescription. I thank them and move on to my next pharmacy. Same story at Sam’s. Frustration is mounting!

I cannot call the doctor because it’s Friday afternoon and they are closed. I head back to the computer one more time (although I realize no one will see this message before Monday). Later that afternoon, I have an email that there is a message from the doctor. I open the message to discover an apology from the doctor for the confusion. My prescription has been called into Sam’s. I wonder if this could be true, could this hassle be over? Rather than drive over, I call to check on the prescription. Music to my ears when the person says, “Yes, we have a prescription for you.”

The journey of frustration has ended. I now have the prescription at the pharmacy of my choice and I can get it refilled when I need it.

13 thoughts on “Journey of Frustration

  1. I am so glad this story ended with a positive result…especially because I was almost chuckling in response to the ridiculous run around you were getting (and physically doing to chase down that prescription). You are so good at capturing these life journeys that can consume us with a hint of humor. It was almost like watching a farce, where one door shuts and the other opens. Now, I hope the medicine does just what you need it to do!

  2. So glad this story had a happy ending after so many disappointments. A happy sigh of disbelief I’m sure…always good when frustrations like this actually get resolved.

  3. Oh yes this is a tale I know all to well. IF they call in a one month prescription the synthroid to a LOCAL pharmacy, then you have to wait 3 months for the 3 months version….when I say, “this does not make sense,” I get a clear agreement from the NP; however, I am often in the cycle of “waiting for synthroid.” That is why I keep a STASH hidden in the drawer….SHHHHH don’t tell the medical community. A girl who is “addicted” to her synthroid has got to do what she has got to do!

  4. Wow-what a story, Elsie. It seems that it should be simple, & it isn’t. These are the times when I really do think it’s human problems, not machines. I think someone didn’t make the call, and then you did, and did, and did. Eureka! And I am glad it came out okay, and that your doctor apologized, but still… Happy Thanksgiving!

  5. Hi Elsie,
    Glad to hear that you were able to get it all sorted in the end! I am so excited to hear that you will be coming to Singapore! I’ll send you an email today! 🙂

  6. Lisa says:

    Frustrating! You captured that well in your writing. I am going through a similar experience: e-mail a person 3 times at 2 week intervals to see if they have solved my problem, only to be told it has been forwarded to someone else. Repeat. Repeat and repeat!

  7. Phillip says:

    So glad your ‘Journey of Frustration’ is with the medical profession!! My first reaction to the title of your blog was “oh no, after all these year of marriage to Mike the gloves are coming off”. What a relief!

  8. I just recently went through a similar chase for my meds. It is frustrating because as Judy C. notes we don’t really want to have to take those pills so it is like adding insult to injury. So it goes…

  9. Judy C. says:

    Oh, Elsie, I do hear your frustration. I’ve been in a similar situation, and even tho we don’t want to take those pills, we know they are needed, but alas, the medical/pharmaceutical industry does seem to work against us at times. I pray that all will be well with you now that you are on the meds. Blessings

  10. You captured this journey so well! And it all began with your words – “Sounds like a good plan.” You could borrow the words, “All’s well that ends well.” But somehow it doesn’t seem so well when it involves so much frustration. So glad you reached a happy ending – eventually!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

