Disappointment or Relief

“The garage sale has been cancelled,” my husband said in a disappointed voice. My heart soared with joy as these words were uttered. Two totally different reactions to the same sentence.

He was eagerly anticipating the fall neighborhood garage sale. This would be the time he could unload the attic of items that we no longer use. This was going to be a purging of the accumulated items in the attic. He has become a minimalist. Use it or lose it is his thinking.

I was dreading the sifting and sorting that lay ahead to prepare for this sale. I knew I would look at each item and think of possible uses for it. Then I would lay it aside, not ready to let it go to a new home. I tend to hang on to things. You know, I might need it (someday).

The days of the garage sale were cool and very wet, not the best weather for a sale. I was grateful I didn’t have to sit in the garage all day.

“Well, I guess I can wait and we can join in on the spring sale,” my husband announced. It’s seven months away. I guess I’d better start preparing.

23 thoughts on “Disappointment or Relief

  1. Terje says:

    The opposite opinions made this piece fun to read. + all the comments. I didn’t know that a garage sale could bring out so many feelings.

  2. luckygurl says:

    This made me smile. I also enjoyed reading the (very) different points of view left by your commenters. I’m a tosser-outer who used to be a hanger-oner, so I identify with both perspectives…

  3. Summer is always the time that my husband wants me to go through stuff in the garage. While I didn’t get it all done, I made great progress this year. And there’s always next summer!

  4. Ahhh, the dreaded garage sale…why is it so hard to part with our goods that we might someday need or want to have on hand? Thanks for sharing this slice…I am so in your shoes…although I do have a ton of baby stuff that I am giving to someone having twins!
    Glad the rain came for your sake!

  5. Jaana says:

    Garage sales are really too much work! That is why I avoid them! That is why there is Goodwill and Salvation Army or wait are they the same?

  6. I dread the preparation for the garage sale. Then the shoppers arrive and buy up all the gently used items that have been sitting. And now there is money in my pocket to buy more of that crap. Actually, what is most fun about garage sales are all the interesting people to meet! I’ll be looking forward to your spring garage sale slice. 🙂

  7. Dreading the sorting and sifting….Lori nods her head! I hate all the deciding. I do better giving to Goodwill and thinking about the value to someone else. Money for me….not good enough for this pack rat!

  8. I’m definitely the “I might use it someday” type, like you! (Unfortunately, so is my husband, which means our house is not exactly tidy… so it’s actually a good thing that your husband is into getting rid of things!) At least you can do it slowly, in little bits until Spring now!

  9. Tam says:

    I know the feeling. Something else to look forward to during those long winter months. I’m already planning my summer garden. I have to–I dread the long, cold winter temps. I take a lot of things to Goodwill–lessens the burden. But I love to watch the favorites go at a garage sale. Some things go to a better home than the home it has in a basement.

  10. Phillip says:

    Note to husband of LC. Skip the stupid garage sale, take ALL the junk you want to get rid of (heck, it will be YEARS before she even misses the crap) to the Salvation Army store and be happy with the tax deduction.

  11. Phillip says:

    Not to husband of LC. Skip the stupid garage sale, take ALL the junk you want to get rid of (heck, it will be YEARS before she even misses the crap) to the Salvation Army store and be happy with the tax deduction.

  12. I continue to be cleaning out, Elsie, but do not like garage sales. It’s too much when someone asks if I’d take 50 cents for something that was marked 75 cents. I’d rather just give it away. The rain arrived in perfect time.

  13. This made me laugh, Elsie – my husband is the one who can’t bear to part with things in our family. Well, seven months is plenty of time to sit back and NOT have to think about what lurks in the attic and garage. Enjoy the peace, my friend!

  14. Judy C. says:

    It’s always to interesting to see different points of view from just one statement. Garage sales are not my thing, but I do try to purge every so often when our church has it’s annual rummage sale. It’s amazing the things we accumulate. I could feel your relief of not having to go thru the “stuff”.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

