My 10 For 10

August 10 for 10 #pb10for10

Picture books are a passion of mine. My husband thinks I need a 12 step program, I think I need more money for more books. When I go to a bookstore, I head to the children’s section to see what they have. I gather up a collection, sink into the too small chairs to read, enjoy, analyze, and determine if my life wouldn’t be complete if I didn’t own this book. You can guess what usually happens.

I have read the 10 for 10 lists for the last two years. It is always interesting to learn what is top on everyone’s list. I think your position influences your choices. I am no longer a classroom teacher. I retired five years ago, but now I work with K-5 teachers through professional development. I try to inspire teachers to learn about texts they may not have ever encountered. So here are my top ten choices today in alphabetical order by author:

Are You an Ant? by Judy Allen and Tudor Humphries: This is just one of a series of Are You a ____? The structure of this would be a great springboard for doing a report. The information is presented in such an engaging way, all readers will learn new and interesting facts about the subject.

Roller Coaster by Marla Frazee: It describes a small moment perfectly but with so much craft.

Never Smile at a Monkey* And 17 other important things to remember by Steve Jenkins: Any book by Steve Jenkins is on my “got to have” list. He is a master at engaging the reader with fascinating facts. This book uses alliteration as it warns you of the perils of some animals.

Saturdays and Teacakes by Lester Laminack: Once teachers fall in love with this story they discover Laminack’s other books. He incorporates so much craft in his writing. If I could only pick one book, this would be it.

Dory Story by Jerry Pallotta: Pallotta is known for his nonfiction alphabet books, so this one was such a surprise when I found it. It is a gem for the story (with food chain content) and the illustrations are from all different perspectives. Plus it has a surprise ending.

Psssst! It’s Me . . . the Bogeyman by Barbara Park: The voice in this book keeps you reading and laughing all the way through. There is so much craft to discover on each page.

Ish by Peter Reynolds: This book makes it all right not to be perfect.

The Little Red Pen by Janet Stevens and Susan Stevens Crummel: Another book filled with voice.

Probuditi! by Chris Van Allsburg: Van Allsburg is the master at making one think beyond the story and this book does exactly that. Of course you need to read all of his books. Choosing one is like trying to pick your favorite child. It can’t be done, but this one might not be as well-known as some of this other titles.

You Have to Write by Janet S. Wong: A perfect book to introduce writing about the common, everyday events in your life. I can’t do writing workshop without this book.

I hope I’ve piqued your curiosity and you will begin the search for some of these titles. Unfortunately, some are no longer in print, but you may be able to find them through the internet booksellers.

Head over to http://reflectandrefine.blogspot.com/ or http://www.enjoy-embracelearning.blogspot.com/ to read about more book choices.

11 thoughts on “My 10 For 10

  1. Joyce says:

    Ahhh, that felt so good. Love to read your always interesting slices. You really have me curious abot the hole and bubbles.
    “Peddle, peddle, peddle”….you should have a newspaper column suggesting children’s great books.

  2. I enjoyed your lists. Many of them are favorites of mine. I’ll have to look at Probuditi. Thanks for sharing! Wendy from MW Reading and Writing blog

  3. Michelle @litlearningzone says:

    A great list Elsie – and a few I haven’t seen before. “Roller Coaster” is in my TBR pile right now. I will also have to check out “Are you an Ant?” Thanks, as always, for sharing!

  4. I’ll look up Roller Coaster, Elsie. Looks good & I didn’t know about it, plus the Janet Wong book. I’m sure it’s wonderful! Janet Stevens is a former parent of mine, so I know & love all her books. She lives in Boulder & I think her sister lives somewhere in Texas. They have created some wonderful books. Thanks for all!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

