Back to SOLC

Read more slice of life stories at Two Writing Teacher’s blog.

It’s Tuesday, I am home, and I can resume my blogging life. All is right (or should I say write) with my world. You may be wondering where I’ve been and why I couldn’t blog. I’ve been on a cruise ship . . . in the Mediterranean Sea . . .  for the last twenty days. What an adventure it’s been! Reality of life was suspended for those twenty days. It is so nice to step away from life and live in a fantasy for a short period of time. I savored the luxury of no shopping for groceries (lots of other shopping opportunities), the only decisions concerning food was what did I want to eat, no chores at home to complete, and no political ads on TV. We were in a protected cocoon of the cruise ship and it was lovely to have someone else responsible for the mundane bits of life.

So the next few entries to this blog will give you a glimpse into where I’ve been, what I’ve done/seen, and interesting people I’ve met.

The trip began with an overnight flight to Rome. That would be great if I could sleep on the plane. Every seat was occupied, fortunately I had an aisle seat. There was a huge group of high school students on this flight, so the chatter was loud and constant since the entertainment system was not working. Nine hours later I was glad to be back on land.

A transport service was to meet us and deliver us to the boat in Civitavecchia (port for Rome). We exited from the secure area to a  bedlam of people. At first we did not find a person holding a paper with our name, but finally we spotted her. We were sent to sit and wait as there were more passengers arriving. Forty minutes later we  boarded a bus to head to the port. Once at the port we  collected our luggage from one bus and transferred to another bus to bring us to the check-in.

The check-in was a disaster! Too many people in a too small space and most had traveled all night so they weren’t in a good mood. Later we found out the reason the check-in was disorganized was they were not in their usual space. There were too many boats in port this day.

Once on board all cares melted away. The adventure was about to begin. The following is a short summary of our itinerary for the first ten days.

Our first day was a sea day. It gave us a chance to catch up on sleep we had missed.

First port was Dubrovnik, Croatia. Our excursion was a kayak trip around an island, past a nude beach (not a pretty sight), and along  the city wall.

We joined several other couples and chartered a boat for a day of swimming along the island of Corfu, Greece. The captain grilled fish, his wife prepared several Greek recipes. This became one of the most enjoyable days of the cruise. 

In Katakolon (Olympia), Greece we visited a farm where they raise olives and other vegetables.

When you are in Santorini, Greece you feel like you are stepping into the movie Mama Mia!

The excursion from Kusadasi, Turkey found us in a small village where we sampled fruit wines, drank Turkish coffee with a fortune teller to read our cups, and had lunch in a villager’s home. The meal was delicious! This really made us appreciate the comforts of our own home.

Eagerly we anticipated Athens, but this was one of our least favorite stops. We went to the Acropolis and it was so crowded! 

Another sea day gave me a chance to finish reading Catching Fire.

In Messina, Sicily, Italy we went to see what a volcano looks like up close. Of course we couldn’t get too close to the crater of Mt. Etna, but we did go up about 6,000 feet. It was interesting to see how the landscape changed as we drove up the mountain.

Back to Civitacecchia to send some passengers home and pick up new ones. We wandered around the market of this town marveling at the size of the red peppers and all the wonderful produce.

Visiting other countries makes me appreciate the ease of life we have in the United States.

21 thoughts on “Back to SOLC

  1. Gorgeous photos! And I always enjoy the way you write. Your voice makes me happy. I can’t wait to read about the rest of your trip!

  2. Wow! What a fantastic opportunity you had! I look forward to hearing more about your trip. So far, it sounds pretty great and the pictures are just beautiful!

  3. So happy to hear of your trip. I was worried when you had not written for several weeks. Silly me. I am glad it was only a nude beach that was awful, not going through a green light to someone’s red light.

  4. My favorite funny line was the ‘nude beach’…not a pretty sight….loved the anticipation of Athens one of the places I want to visit and then the crowds. I will prepare myself mentally for that . Your pics are terrific and I’ve missed your voice L.C. ! xo nanc

  5. Judy C. says:

    What a fantastic trip you had! Thank you so much for sharing your journey in words and pictures with us. I think we’ll have to put this one on our “bucket list” and start saving. I missed your delightful posts – welcome back.

  6. So good to have you back writing. (You’ve been missed!) A trip of a lifetime – thanks for sharing in pictures and words. All this beauty and history. I got a chuckle at your mention of the nude beach (not a pretty sight) though!

  7. Wow! I am so happy for you that you had such a nice trip. I smiled with your play on words at the start. I look forward to hearing more in your future posts and am glad that you shared the beautiful pictures.

  8. Elsie, so glad to have you back on board. What a treat to vicariously experience this trip via your slices and pictures. I’ll look forward to more details next week!

  9. Lynn says:

    Sounds beautiful! I so agree when you write . . . vacations do allow us to take a break from the realities of life . . . I guess that’s why we enjoy them so much.

  10. I am getting ready to return to school and in a week I will greet new first graders! So I truly enjoyed relaxing and journeying with you as you described part of your vacation. How lovely but glad to have you back! 🙂

  11. Oh, Elsie, how wonderful to hear about your days on the cruise. All those gorgeous sights, but even the sea days sound lovely! I’m looking forward to more! I love that photo of Santorini (I guess that’s the right one.)

Thanks for taking time to comment.

