Another Kind of Bird

While I was in California visiting my son, I tried to continue walking daily. As I walked the neighborhood, I felt as though I was being watched. I was, but these eyes didn’t blink or turn its head when I walked by. This caused me to create another phoem (photo + poem).

A new bird has sprouted,

The flock stands guard.

Each has been assigned a position.

Some are shy,

They lurk between the leaves, unsure of their job.

Vigilant day and night,

Turn around, you must keep a watchful eye!

Stretch your neck, be the first to spot danger.

Colors fade, but they continue to stand tall,

Until someone cuts and tosses them aside.

Read more slice of life stories at Two Writing Teacher’s blog.

25 thoughts on “Another Kind of Bird

  1. margaretsmn says:

    These “birds” were speaking to you. I like what they said. A fun thing to do on a summer walk, photos and writing. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I want those flowers! I want to do photos with words like you did! I want to print and make a book as a mentor text. I loved this! Thanks for sharing. (thinking of photo walks to take…..) πŸ™‚

  3. aruddteacher100 says:

    I had to do a double take! I really thought the flowers were birds at first! Your poem gives life to a beautiful flower, I love how you personified their work through your poetry! Thank you for sharing these pictures too! So beautiful!

  4. Once again, I love the “phoem”! Those flowers do truly seem like live birds — I have always imagined them this way too! πŸ™‚ I especially love the personality in the “shy” one! The ending was sad though. I hope someone put those cut ones into a display!

  5. I love the idea of a phoem! The way you use your words to create different feelings and then match them perfectly to the pictures is just amazing. Thank you for sharing your walk with us!

  6. Lynn says:

    Birds of Paradise are one of my favorites! You did a wonderful job with the poem…your words fit the pictures perfectly!

  7. I love the birds of paradise, saw many in Florida last year, but never thought about them in this beautiful way, Elsie. Your walks inspire me always, & now you’re adding in the poetry, so phoems! I enjoyed all the lines, but this one stands out to me: “They lurk between the leaves, unsure of their job.” That word lurk gives a different feeling, doesn’t it? Thank you!

  8. Wonderful! I love the idea of “illustrating” the poem with the photographs. This is awesome. And would make a great mentor text for my creative writing kids. Hope you don’t mind if I pin this!

  9. You are so creative. What a great phoem. The way you give personalities to these flowers is enchanting. “Vigilant day and night” I will notice more closely when I pass by.

  10. I love the way that you combine the images with your inner thoughts. My favorite line – colors fade, but they continue to stand tall. I’d like to try my hand at a phoem later this summer.

  11. Oh my. Elsie! You took this all the way – perfect photographs, perfect poetry. Isn’t it wonderful when you allow your imagination to look at something familiar in an entirely different way?!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

