Phone Call

Last night my son called. He lives in California, 3,000 miles away from me. To the world, he’s a grown man. To me he’s still my little boy.  Sunday is the day he usually calls me and we chat about life in general. It fills my need to hear his voice and know that everything is right in his world. He didn’t call this week. Sometimes that happens. I wait . . .

His special ring began to play on my phone sitting beside me. I smile as I answer the phone. We talk a few minutes. I tell him that his uncle’s house has sold. He is surprised that it has sold so quickly.

Then the words that changed my evening of a pleasant chat to one of fear and dread came through the phone, “I’ve got something to tell you.” Fear grabs my heart, my stomach lurches as I brace myself for whatever, because the tone was not one of good news. “Allie’s purse was stolen yesterday from her desk.” He goes on to explain everything that was in her purse.

The only key to the truck she was driving, her social security card, all bank cards, keys to the house and his car. Fortunately she had her phone in her pocket. He had to leave work to go pick up the daughter from school, then come to get  Allie. Once home, they began the task of calling credit card companies and banks. Someone had to be called to make a key for the truck ($400). A new deadbolt was installed on the front door. There is fear that whoever took the purse will come to their home and steal their car. Unfortunately they do not have a garage.

Allie went to the bank and was told that someone tried to withdraw $5,000 from her account. They do not have that kind of money. Fortunately the teller asked for identification. The person did not have any. The teller asked security questions. The person failed. She was denied access to the account (thank goodness!)

He feels violated. He feels angry that someone has caused their lives to be turned upside down. He is frustrated that they have had to bear expenses that were not in the budget. He is grateful that no one is hurt. He knows that things can be replaced.

No matter how old your child is, you want their world to be perfect. It makes me sick to think of what they have been through these past two days. I wish I could make it all better.

24 thoughts on “Phone Call

  1. Tiffany says:

    I just saw this… I’m on golf course between holes. :0) I’m so sorry and frustrated for them. There are a lot of desperate people out there now. So sad and frustrated.

  2. Janay says:

    Well, we have talked about your little boy wearing his big boy pants…he has really gotten a taste of real life! How awful for them. I can’t imagine going through that, and feel bad for them.

  3. Oh no! What a violation! That is horrible. It is the kind of thing that makes you feel angry at the world, even if you are the type of person who knows better than to be angry at the world. I imagine as a mother it is a whole other level of frustration and concern. I am glad they were proactive about taking care of things, but I understand the money stress all too well when the unexpected happens.

  4. Elsie, I’m so sorry. No one should have to go through that, & especially young ones who don’t have a lot of money, etc. And I understand completely. My daughter-in-law had a bad wreck last year shortly after they moved. She was okay, but as you said, my heart tumbled when my son Nathan said those words, Mom, I’ve got to tell you something. Sometimes I wish they could just blurt it out! If wishes were horses…

  5. Oh no! It’s crazy to me to think that someone would do something like that. I know it happens all the time but where is the conscience for the people who do these things? Best wishes to your son and his family.

  6. As a mom with adult age children as well, I know only too well how panicked I feel when I hear certain tones in their voices. What can you do when you aren’t within reasonable driving distance — all you can do is listen and problem solve. What I really want to do is just give them a great big hug.
    What happened here just stinks, but I’m so glad no one was hurt.

  7. aruddteacher100 says:

    Omg! This is such a nightmare! Sorry to hear about this misfortune! Thank goodness the thief was stopped! My in-laws had their bankcard read by a skimmer machine that was attached at the money machine…a whole group of people had money stolen from their accounts…

  8. I’m so happy for your son and Allie that the teller did his/her job by asking the appropriate questions! Amen :). I do wish, too, that you could kiss his cheek and take away all the unplanned, unwanted expenses. Like salt to a wound… I am glad, though, that everyone is OK.

  9. I am so sorry for your son’s loss and your heartache. Having grown children is often more difficult than little ones. We must let them make mistakes, bite our tongues, and worry for their safety. There is often nothing we can do to help, except to pray for them. I will keep your family in my prayers.

  10. Judy C. says:

    So sorry to hear of your son and daughter-in-law’s misfortune. I know how you feel having our children lives far away and hearing that phase, “I have something to tell you”. No matter how old they get, they are still our children and we want to helps them in whatever ways we can. Hopefully, they will find the person who stole the purse and be able to get some retribution.

  11. Michelle @litlearningzone says:

    How frustrating and sad! You grabbed me when your son said those words too – my eyes started bouncing about the page wondering what . . . what . . . what could have happened!?!? Again, we try our best to look for the positive. Best of luck trying to figure it all out.

  12. grade4wizard says:

    Your child is always your child no matter the age. This kind of theft leaves one shaking for quite awhile. I know you worried but I think the fact that your son called is a compliment to you. He could have kept this a secret from you.
    Terje

  13. How frustrating for both your son and for Allie. What a crummy thing for someone to do. And even worse, you can’t do much to help. Wouldn’t it be nice if you could kiss them on the cheek and make it all better?

    Like djts said, perhaps a video camera at the bank could lead to this person’s arrest.

  14. djts says:

    Hmmm. Security cameras should have a picture of that person…shouldn’t they?
    It’s good to just have someone to bounce stuff off of like a good mom. That’s all he needed!

  15. mrssurridge says:

    That is such an invasion of privacy and security! Kudos to the bank teller–she is worth her weight in gold! I know that just talking to my mom gives me the comfort I need to make it through some very frustrating life experiences. I still need her to care for everything that upsets me. It gives me hope. And I’m 50! Moms are such a gift!

  16. Oh that just sucks. It just sucks that people have to feel violated in this manner and add so much extra work and financial burden to their already busy lives as well as fear. I’m sure your son appreciated your support and love.

  17. Tam says:

    Sorry this all happened to your son and his family. This is a nightmare and hopefully things will be resolved soon. And just because they’re adults, our children will always need our support. It’s nice he calls you every Sunday–he can count on you to be there.

  18. readsomuch says:

    How awful for your son and wife! It’s do unsettling to think about all the “what if’s”. In so glad to hear the bank asked for identification and their money stayed safe. What a terrible ordeal for them.

  19. It is so hard to be so far away from our children in miles but also as they age. Even though they are still our children, we have to let them go in some ways. We did raise them to take care of themselves, didn’t we? When you heard the words “I’ve got to tell you something.” , I know your heart seemed to stop.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

