Changing Cars

“You need new tires,” my husband announced. “So we need to decide are we keeping your car, or are we getting something else? I don’t want to spend the money for the tires if we are trading it in.”

This was a question I knew was coming my way, but trying to avoid making a decision. I like my car. It has been with me for about five years (the longest amount of time I’ve ever been able to hang on to a car). I hate, hate shopping for cars. My husband loves cars. He is perpetually mentally shopping for a car to meet all needs. I don’t even want to think about it.

“If we are keeping it, I don’t want you to drive it when you go out of town. It’s getting too many miles and the tires are not safe,” he continued as I sat there thinking and weighing my options. “You can take the other car, but you can drive the convertible when you are home.”

I finally respond, “The thing is, I can’t do this, drive one car for trips/work and another for leisure when I am home. I like my “stuff” in my car. I need my “stuff” whether I am home or on the road. I can drive the other car if you want me too, but I need my stuff.”

He understood and spent the afternoon  transferring  my “stuff” to the other car.  I drove the other car, now my car. I must get used to it. I miss certain features of my previous car. I could see the range of miles and the temperature with a glance. The net in the trunk is in just the right location and size. I will miss the whole aspect of the convertible.

There are a few things that are perks on the new car. It is a keyless entry and start. I don’t have to dig around in my purse for the key. The seat has more ways to adjust the bottom and back, so I can get it in the just right position. Plus it has a memory feature so if someone else drives it and moves it out of my position, I can get it back with the touch of a button. It has a backup camera that shows in the rear view mirror. I need that! I can see out the back window (convertible windows just don’t give a wide view).

There are a few things I still have to figure out. But I suppose I will adjust. It’s just not my car, yet.

32 thoughts on “Changing Cars

  1. I am so glad I’m not the only one that needs my stuff in my car. I have everything organized just the way I want it, and am not so flexible about driving our other car. It’s just easier to drive the car I’m used to every day. I wish my car had the memory seat feature. When my daughter drives the car she has to adjust the seat and mirrors (and believe me, I want her to), but it takes me several tries to get everything back the way I like it.

    So does this mean you are driving another car instead of thinking about car shopping?

    • No car shopping until the end of the summer. When I am done traveling to schools I hope to move back to my car for the summer. (at least that’s what I’m thinking)

  2. I hate car shopping also. UGH! And I like my stuff too in my car…my car is my second home. I eat in it…I’m messy. Enjoy your new car…it will feel like yours soon. : )

  3. aruddteacher100 says:

    LC,
    I don’t envy you with having to make decisions of this nature…a similar thing recently happened with me…my old razr cell was slowly fading off into a non-working state-keep or get new phone? My hubby begged me to please get a new one before the old quit working and I’d be stranded somewhere with the kids (like the emergency room parking deck)…anyway, I finally decided after much himming and hawing to get the new phone…I’ve had it for two days, I am starting to like it…and like you, “There are a few things I still have to figure out. But I suppose I will adjust.”

  4. Your wonderful story reminds me of the movie with George Clooney and Michelle Pfiffer (can’t remember the name of course) where they drop off kids for day care and he sees all the things they need in her purse and says, “Where do you get a bag like that?” Men just don’t get how important that “stuff” is and what a thoughtful process is involved in accumulating it. I know you will like your new car – when you get all your “stuff” placed just right.

  5. Aah, yes the stuff! Now that your “stuff” is in the car, it is more your car than it was yesterday. Give it time, you two will warm up to each other! It’s already trying to win you over with the keyless entry and all,,,it’s trying so hard!! 🙂

  6. I know exactly how you feel. I love my Jeep- love, love, love it. It has exactly what I want in it, including the stuff in the glove compartment and the console. It’s high enough so I can see in traffic and the satelite radio keeps my company in case the traffic is jammed up at the tunnel. My husband also love to car shop and is chomping at the bit because it’s almost paid off. But I’m putting my foot down this time- I’m keeping the Jeep! Thanks for the post.
    Diane

  7. Elsie, thank you for taking us straight into your husband’s mind as well as yours by allowing 2WT slicers a front row seat for the conversation. I understand wanting your stuff — my car isn’t one bit clean, but hey, at least I have all my stuff (which is more than I can say for my apartment 😉 ). Good luck getting used to your ‘new’ ride :).
    b

  8. wkb57 says:

    Elsie,
    I loved this piece and found it sounded very familiar to conversations and actions in my own household involving cars. I totally get needing “your stuff” and the relationships we have with the cars we drive. There is a reason people give their cars names!!

  9. Anything cars makes me feel like I’m in first grade. I just don’t get them and need someone to really break it down for me. I would be dreading car shopping as well. I could feel your attachment to your “stuff”.

  10. I’m picky about cars and I get very attached to them, so I hate changing cars too! Last school year my car got totaled and I was SO MAD at the guy who hit me. I didn’t WANT a new car, I wanted MY car! I felt all discombobulated in the rental car without my “stuff” until we could buy a new car, and then the new car still wasn’t MY car! (Even though we got the new model year of my same kind of car! MY car had been a college graduation gift from my dad, so it was more than just a car.) I like the new one now that I’m settled into it (it’s really almost the same, and my dad went with me to help pick this one out too), but I understand your feelings completely!

  11. margaretsmn says:

    I get it. My new car is now my old car, and I love it. I hope it lasts a few more years. This new car will grow on you, I’m sure. Do you name your cars?

  12. djts says:

    Yes, you HAVE to have your stuff. When my son gets in my car, he invariably says, I see you are still living in your car…

  13. I still drive my old car and my new car because of these kinds of sentiments. ( I don’t have that practical husband to tell me otherwise.) 🙂 It does come in handy with visiting family…it is an indulgence…but not illegal or high in calories!

  14. I can definitely relate to your post. Whenever I have to switch cars with my husband my “stuff” doesn’t quite fit and it is not easy to get to. I have to rearrange the seat so I can see over the hood and my husband complains because he can’t get in the seat so he has to adjust the seat in order to get in the car. Hopefully it will not be too long an adjustment for you.

  15. I have really enjoyed your slices. I always find myself nodding along with you as I read. Of course you need your “stuff” in your car! It’s sort of like your purse. You can’t carry someone else’s purse and be comfortable because it doesn’t have the right stuff in it! I like that you show some hope of adjusting at the end…it’s a process, it just hasn’t happened yet.

  16. I just read the title of your link on Two Writing Teachers and said “yes, absolutely!” You HAVE to have your stuff in the car! I do the same thing and I hate it when I have to switch cars. Good luck!

  17. Jama says:

    What a sweet husband, to be looking out for you so precisely. You are a blessed woman to have a husband who treasures you, and a car to adjust to. On top of that, you are so gifted at telling the stories of your life. Yes, you are blessed.

    • I think it’s more fear that he will have to fix his own meals should something happen to me. 🙂 Thanks for the compliment on my daily stories of life.

  18. It’s just not my car, yet.
    I love the little “yet”. Hope for the future. Your car will become your friend.
    And I am thankful for you that your husband loves you and wants you to be safe.

  19. grade4wizard says:

    You already seem to be adjusting to the new car. Give it some time and you won’t even remember the getting to know period.
    Tank you for your good wishes today.
    Terje

  20. I love the exchange between you and your husband…and how you need your stuff. Here’s hoping that you start loving your new wheels just as much. I do still miss my red Jeep Cherokee that went out west with my son. I wasn’t ready for that good-bye either…and then it got stolen.. so I could never see it again. Your story brought up lots of thoughts like they always do.

  21. This car thing is exasperating for me. I just want mine to work & never stop working! Your post shows that you are getting used to it a ‘little bit’, but giving up the convertible in the spring is a big challenge, I think. I like the idea of all those little things you mentioned at the end, though. Fun to think about!

  22. Tam says:

    Yes, new tires sends signs of maybe getting another car. I would definitely have to use one car, too–“stuff.” Look like your new car though will be “yours” eventually. Giving up a convertible though??? Oh, the Mad Men thing. I did work in Chicago one summer and was in a Mad Men office!! Interesting and enlightening as to big cities again. And I am pursuing my “event” with joy and zest. I carry those words with me now. Thanks. It’s really the only way to go.

  23. What kind of car is it? What’s the color? I’m with your husband and as much as I love my Prius, I’m dreaming about something new but so far, I haven’t seen anything to capture my interest. It’s also hard to move away from a hybrid.
    I LOVE CARS!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

