Pansies Speak Again

Last fall, I was incredibly busy working in schools, so my life wasn’t too interesting (translate that to not much to write about). The pansies that had been planted in our yard spoke up and took over the slice of  life for that Tuesday. They have demanded some time to let everyone know how they are doing. Therefore, without further ado, I will turn this post over to them.

If you click on the link above you will see how pretty we were in the fall. Thankfully, winter was fairly mild this year. We were only covered up with snow twice and neither was too heavy, nor did the snow hang around too long. When the cold weather hits we tend to wither up a bit, but don’t think we won’t survive, we are survivors. We don’t look our best here, what is that crazy woman doing taking our picture? This is not our best side.

Wait, we need some sunshine to look our best!

See what a little sunshine and mild temperatures can do for a flower’s complexion.

Okay, we look a little better. Sunshine does a blossom good.

This neighborhood is a happening place! We’ve been keeping our eye on the action. The house at the corner transplanted two trees from the front of their house to the backyard. At least it will give us something to look at. It was pretty boring before.

What’s that rumbling up the road? A moving van? There isn’t even a for sale sign in the yard. For two days these people have been hauling furniture out of the house. Wonder what’s going on over there? We never see anyone at that house anymore.

Oh, there goes Lauren pulling her daughter Hazel in the wagon. They haven’t been out walking in a while. Wait a minute! Lauren’s pregnant! What?!

Here comes Dan, he thinks we are pretty. Where’s the wind to toss our pretty little heads around, “Oh Dan, look over here.”  He just drove past us, didn’t even look. What are all those boxes in his truck? Can you see the pictures on the sides? Oh look, it’s new patio furniture.

Ahhh, that sunshine feels so good! We are in our glory, don’t you agree?

,

The gangs all here and looking good!

The wind has picked up a bit and that let’s us get a better view of our cousins who were planted across the driveway. Whoa, get a load of that tree! Why do they get the pretty tree and we just get a maple? Life is not fair!

Hey cousins, don't we look good?

They may have  pretty pink blossoms overhead, but we have people walking in the yard to get a closer look at us. The nice lady said we were gorgeous!  She didn’t even noticed the pansies below the tree. So there!

Now you are up-to-date with the happenings in the neighborhood. So we will just stay in our spot and look pretty. It’s so easy to do when you are beautiful. You agree we are beautiful, right?

25 thoughts on “Pansies Speak Again

  1. Beautiful pictures! I enjoyed how you wrote from the perspective of the pansy. I once wrote a story from the point of view of a paper clip…it’s fun to try out different views!

  2. aruddteacher100 says:

    Ahh, to be a pansy, what a life you must lead you happy little flowers you. Thank you for your post. It’s good that you are so observant in the “goings-on” of the neighborhood. Enjoy the springtime rush…and the rays of Mr. Sun. 🙂

  3. Judy C. says:

    What a beautiful way your pansies have of sharing their point of view with us. The sun definitely makes everything so much brighter. Thanks for sharing.

  4. I am so jealous of your yard! We had some sewer issues- tree root issues- and had to have the front bed dug up two days before Hurricane Irene blew in. Then we had limbs down and had to have the roof repaired and the work crews were in and out of that poor flower bed. Now, it’s bare and just crying out for some TLC. I won’t show it your post tonight; the bed will just pout and look worse than ever! It rained here all weekend this weekend, so maybe next weekend, your post will inspire me. Thanks for the beautiful pictures.
    Diane

  5. Beautiful pictures of your flowers and flowering “things” — and I love the point of view! I also love this because I kill every plant I’ve ever tried to grow. Thank God my sister visits regularly and fixes my “death” thumb! haha….

  6. I love the pansies insider (or outsider) view on the neighborhood. With several days of sunshine behind us, but rain returning . . . I have to agree with the pansies that sunshine feels so good!

  7. P.S. It was so fun to hear that you’ve been to Columbus! 🙂 We’ll have to find that pub and try it out! As for Barcelona, I was only there for a few days on a trip in high school so I’m not exactly an expert, but I can give you a few tips. I’m sure every guide you read will tell you to see the Sagrada Familia cathedral and it’s definitely just as awesome as they say. However, my favorite place in the city is Parc Guell, also designed by Gaudi. It’s like walking into his imagination: gingerbread-house buildings, fantastical mosaic tile animal statues, spiraling leaning columns, and the added bonus is a beautiful view of the whole city. Leave yourself a little time to relax and explore this dreamlike park! Also, make sure you eat some churros and chocolate and try some Magnum ice cream bars from the little ice cream stands that pop up on street corners in the summertime. (I think they will be in Barcelona too, not just Madrid!) If I think of anything else, I’ll let you know! 🙂

  8. I loved that original pansy post and this one is just as fun! The “fun” voice you give to the pansies is so entertaining! The pictures are gorgeous too — I especially love the cherry blossoms. (Shh, don’t tell the pansies!)

  9. Pansies, beautiful, pansies…I hear you loud and clear. Now that I know you have so much to say I will pay close attention whenever I see your kin.
    (Oh Elsie, what a treat! So glad you let them speak again. But I am wondering what the cousins under the pretty pink blossoms have to say in response?)

  10. Love the perspective, Elsie – it was a lively ( and, thanks to the photos) pretty look at the world through the eyes of those particular inhabitants of your front yard.

  11. Yes, you are beautiful! 🙂 This made me really want to have students read it and then choose an everyday object to write from the perspective of… maybe something that stays in the house alone all day… what happens when we’re gone??? 🙂 Thanks for the idea!

  12. grade4wizard says:

    I love the bold “we” close to the end. From “don’t take pictures” to “she said we are gorgeous” attitude change is remarkable. Yes, pansies, you are beautiful.

  13. My, my dear pansies (you who mean ‘loving thoughts’) you do look gorgeous! This early sunshine and warm temps have done a world of good for you. Sorry that you aren’t getting much notice from the visitors. They must be having their own busy Sundays and are much distracted. There is a lot going on in your neighborhood, probably more to come… (Elsie, you could be in my neighborhood too-people are finally outside & the blooms are arriving! Thanks for the beautiful view!)

  14. Interesting perspective! I wonder if the observations were all from one day or a culmination of several days or weeks…

    Oh, and I agree with your pansies; they are very pretty! 🙂

  15. Love the point of view you used in this post!! I especially loved the part where the pansies were being flirtatious with Dan – how fun! So cleverly done, and it really makes me welcome spring; hope it’s here to stay.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

