Changes (part two)

Where was I? Oh yes, due to the fact I could not go away to college, I met my husband. That changed the direction of my life.

We were both teachers, and we got jobs in a small rural town where we stayed for twenty years. Then, boom! A big change, my husband got a different job. We had to move, my son was going to be a sophomore in high school. I was not too excited about this move. Over time I discovered this was the best thing for us.

Because of the change to a new school, I was able to become a Reading Recovery teacher. That training changed my teaching in the most positive way. I am thankful I was able to get that training. It made me a better teacher for all my students. I wouldn’t have the “part-time” job of training teachers in balanced literacy practices if we hadn’t moved. So once again a change made me a better person.

After spending a year away attending (or should I say not attending) college and another semester in college closer to home, my son decided he wanted to move to California to work for his uncle instead of continuing his education. That change was a heartbreaker for me. However, he did return to school, he met a wonderful girl, and they are happily married. I can proudly say he completed his education and is a geophysicist. A heartbreaking change turned into a heart-happy life.

The newest change  about to happen is . . .  my brother-in-law is retiring and selling his house in California. He doesn’t know where he will live, but it won’t be California. When we go to visit our son and family, we stay at my brother-in-law’s house. He has a very nice house and there is a room for us. My son does not have a room for us (he barely has enough room for his family).

I thought, it will take a while for the house to sell, the market hasn’t recovered. My California home is safe, for a while. I was wrong. The house was on the market for four days and he has three offers for the house. No, no, say it isn’t sold! It will be, soon. This is not a change I am looking forward to. Now I will have to find other accommodations in California. Why does this have to change? Will this turn into a change for the good? I can’t see it that way right now. Our comfortable arrangement is about to hit a snag. I hate snags! (I told you it wasn’t bad, just inconvenient.)

13 thoughts on “Changes (part two)

  1. Elsie,
    I’ve been reading your past posts and have to say I’m thankful I didn’t have to wait 24 hours for the second half of this story! The way you built tension and used the push and pull between present and past made this a pleasure to read. And then at the end I’m disappointed for you. Maybe soon there will be another post with an almost-perfect solution?

    I really enjoyed these glimpses into the past-you…making you even more intriguing to me. Maybe someday we’ll be able to sit in the same room and talk and talk and talk? I’ll keep my fingers crossed.
    Ruth

  2. I think I enjoyed the journey of changes (I went back to catch up on yesterday’s slice) more than I enjoy the ending of this slice! It is so much easier to make the decision to travel often when you have a comfortable, familiar destination. I hope you find another easy option for visiting your son and your brother-in-law finds a new place that is nice to visit as well!

  3. All I keep thinking is that one of the things that will change due to this is your route, to get to son’s house. Maybe there will be something on that route you have never seen before or a person/place you were meant to notice. That’s what keeps running through my head; it is a bummer when our comforts get tossed upside down though. 😦

  4. Loved this line: “A heartbreaking change turned into a heart-happy life.” Isn’t it funny how things eventually work out?

    Like you, I spent several years teaching Reading Recovery and agree that it was one of the best opportunities of my life. It really made me the teacher I am today. Through RR I realized that everyone can learn if we just are willing to work hard and puzzle it out. I also learned the value of praise, continuous assessment, and scaffolding. OK, the list could go on and on.

    Cathy

  5. It seems that change has treated you well thus far. I think we often anticipate change to mean worse, when it usually means different. Different keeps life interesting and opens us up to new experiences and new learning. I enjoyed reading about the changes in your life and how they have impacted you.

  6. I’m glad it wasn’t too bad of a change! I know it is not what you want, but hopefully this change carries something positive with it too, as so many of your other changes have. You’ll have to be on the lookout for what the good thing is and update us once it happens! 🙂

  7. Hmmmm. Adapting to what happens in life. Maybe this will be like finding beautiful blueberries when the store in out of strawberries.
    Thinking of you as you adapt to the newest change.

  8. Tam says:

    Seems to have been perfect for you. This is hard, but your apprehension and changes in the past brought you to a better place, so maybe there is better still coming for you. Keep us updated, my friend.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

