Poetry on the Spine

Last week Dana at She Writes Because . . . created three great book spine poems after reading a post from Travis Jonkers at 100 Scope Notes. I also read Travis’s call for book spine poems, but alas I had already posted my slice for Friday. My plan was to create a few with books from my shelves and post them today, on  Poetry Friday.

Immediately after reading 100 Scope Notes, I pulled several books from my shelves and voila! a poem. Here is my poem:

Quickly I sent this one off to Travis. Woo hoo! I got an email back saying he has added it to the Book Spine Gallery that will be visible on April 2. My mind was spinning, my fingers were itching to pull more, but I did not have time to create another (work was shouting at me). That task was put on the back burner, the I’ll-do-it-later list.

Three days later as I am driving away from home, my mind is running through the checklist of to do’s. Oh no! I forgot to turn the back burner on. I left home and did not have any more poems for the Friday post! Drats! 😦 What to do? Call a friend! I know someone with an incredible bookshelf of children’s books. She lives near where I will be working. Can she save me? Ring, ring . . .

Me: Hey Linda, are you going to be home Thursday?

Linda: Sure am, what’s up?

Me: Could I drop by and go through your bookcase to create some book spine poems?

Linda: Sure, but what’s a book spine poem?

Me: You stack books and create poetry with the titles. See you tomorrow!

Thankfully, Linda has saved me! We combed her shelves and created a couple more poems. Check them out!

I think we did a pretty good job. Thanks Linda! You saved me from a single poem post.

23 thoughts on “Poetry on the Spine

  1. oh Elsie, Thank you so much for this slice. I have never seen book spine poems. I want to try it. And I love that you included the dramatic phone conversation. I was right there in the car with you, after the little Ring, ring …….
    Such a more interesting way to say than a simple, “I called her…”In your writing you take the ordinary and give it a fresh face.’

  2. grade4wizard says:

    Book spine poems look easy but they are mot necessarily because you are bound to the words on the spines. They are certainly fun to create, especially with children literature.
    Thank you for the short poem you wrote to me. It is a gift.
    Terje

  3. Paul says:

    These are sweet! Inspiration and meaning are everywhere, waiting to be constructed by the fine-tuning of our perceptions! 🙂

  4. This is a great idea! I have to try this! In fact, as I was rocking my daughter today, I began to look over the book shelf! We will see what the weekend brings.

  5. So glad you posted these! I could feel your excitement. Loved the poems! Plus, City Dog, Country Frog and Three Hens and a Peacock are such great book.

  6. Thank you! Inspiration. I will share these with my college students. Many times they need to be encouraged to be creative. This will help them!

  7. What a cool idea! I have never heard of book spine poems before. And thanks for the heads up on another great blogger out there in the blog-o-sphere.

    “Surprising Sharks”
    “That’s good! That’s bad!”

    Hilarious! Thanks for sharing.

  8. Those are sooo cute! I’ve never heard of book spine poems! Now I’ll have to try them out. I think they would be great for ELL kids because of the hands-on manipulation! This is going into my Evernote for sure.

  9. I saw Travis’ post too-like last year, this is such fun, to combine poems & books-hurrah. I love the titles you found, Elsie, especially the one of the hens and the peacock on a journey to see the sea. Sounds like a good idea for a Picture Book!

  10. I have got to try this. I remember seeing some of Dana’s last week too, my back burner must be off as well!!!! I love your poems, and love some of those books too. 🙂

  11. This is a fresh new idea to me and I LOVE it!!!! Your examples are fabulous but my favorite part is how you stopped by your friend’s house so you could create some. You drew her in to help and I can just sense the fun you both had. Elsie from what I am gathering through your posts and your comments this is who you are inspired and inspiring others!

  12. These are so great, Elsie. I was just thinking of Book Spine poems the other day. My TBR pile is getting so big, I might be able to write several just using those titles!

  13. Tam says:

    I can do this. I will try today. Thanks for a Friday idea. I like your comment about forgetting to turn the back burner on. Can I use it?

  14. Elsie, your spine poetry rocks (or should that be stacks)!
    I keep wanting to do these with my students in the library, but I fear the librarian would throw us out! Maybe I’ll show her your post and see what she says!

  15. What fun! We do this at the end of t he school year, when making a mess of our bookshelves is not such an issue. Always a favorite activity.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

