I Went for Strawberries

I love fruit. Every night I usually have a bowl of some kind of fruit as my salad portion of the meal. I love the summer fruits: watermelon, peaches, plums, peaches, honeydew, berries of all types, and did I mention peaches? When the summer fruits dry up and leave the stores I am left with grapefruits, oranges, pears, and apples. I make do, but I don’t savor these fruits like the summer fruits.

So when I discovered that Sam’s has strawberries that taste like strawberries, I am there. My routine is to go and get a container of strawberries and another of blackberries for my dinner fruit.  Each evening I dole out portions of each and I am set for the week.

Saturday I needed a break from working at my desk, so I thought I’d make a quick run to Sam’s to pick up my fruit for dinner that evening. I grabbed a cart as I entered, even though I was only going to get two items (well maybe three, avocados are $1 off) plus it’s nice not to have to balance purse and items. Anyway, back to the story . . . I push the cart towards the back of the store with my eyes scanning all merchandise just in case there is something new that needs to belong to me.  I don’t spot anything as I approach the fruit and vegetable area. I circle one cooler, no strawberries but lots and lots of grapes. I whip my cart around another cooler. No strawberries, but there are blackberries. I grab a container of blackberries. I pause, eyes looking over the tops of all the coolers. Where did they move the strawberries? I grumble to myself, “Why can’t they just leave stuff in one place, why do they have to move it around?” I begin to push the cart forward and I see a sample lady, so I head in that direction.

The sample lady is giving samples of blackberries and blueberries. “Where are the the strawberries?” I ask her.

The next words make me want to run from the store screaming “No, no, say it isn’t so!” She said, “We are out, but I think we are waiting for a shipment. Check with that guy stocking the grapes.” Did I mention, there were lots of grapes?

With hope welling up inside, I approach the stocker. “Have the strawberries come yet?” I ask in my most pleasant voice, so he will be willing to fetch them for me from the back (immediately).

“We won’t get another shipment until Monday,” he responds, barely glancing at me.

What? This is Saturday! That means two more days with no strawberries?! (Yes, I know other stores carry the berries, but you don’t understand these are soooo good. The others aren’t as tasty. I am very picky about my fruit!) I decide I will suffer through this famine of strawberries with two boxes of blackberries.

I go to check on the avocados, I add them to my cart. I wander to check on asparagus. Hmmm, that’s a good price, into the cart. Oh look, they have smaller bags of sugar snap peas. I can do something with them next week. What’s this? Mini zucchini? That looks like fun, add it to the other items. Well, I should grab a container of spinach, we haven’t had sauteed spinach in a while. Down another aisle I see pluots. Maybe I should get some since I can’t get strawberries. Add it to the cart. Sugar pears? Never had them, but anything with the word sugar in it has to be good, right? Only $1.98? I’ll try them too.

As I look over my cart, I decide to put the second box of blackberries back. I think I have enough fruit to tide me over until the drought of strawberries ends. What do you think?

I just went in for strawberries.

35 thoughts on “I Went for Strawberries

  1. I had to google pluot to discover what that unknown fruit might be. If you’re going to pick something to fill your cart with, at least fruit is a healthy choice. “Yes, I know other stores carry the berries, but you don’t understand these are soooo good. The others aren’t as tasty.” Your personality/voice really came through.

  2. You made me laugh tonight! I have made way too many of those Sam’s Club trips, where I go in for something specific, which they don’t have, but then I spend a hundred dollars anyway! YIKES! And ou write with such great voice!

  3. So with you with your line, “strawberries that taste like strawberries”. I’m especially that way with tomatoes. Everyone brings me their garden tomatoes just because they know I’m so picky. Naming all those fruits made my mouth water. Yum!

  4. This kind of thing always happens to me! I have even taken a pic of the empty produce shelf and texted it to my husband in disbelief!

    You know how to tell a good story! I love the grumbling and shifts in your attitude. Your grocery shopping thought process even becomes fascinating the way you tell it!

  5. It’s like I said today, there are the days when it is not 60 degrees and all the days that follow when it is 60 or warmer.
    There to are the days when we can’t get a tasty strawberry and all the days that follow!

  6. Elsie, great story! I can honestly say I am now craving strawberries! I love the way you went in for two items and came out with many “things that needed to belong to you” -great line!

  7. Ann says:

    What a smile you gave my day! I loved your repetition – and I’m a kindred-strawberry-spirit. I absolutely “get” your need for the perfect berry. I even grow my own – I’m just that picky. Now I’m really hungry for a big bowl of strawberries. Dare I go to the store in my jammies? 🙂

  8. I love this! I am single, and addicted to Sam’s Club! People think I am nuts, and I probably am, but reading your story makes me feel like I have a long-lost friend! 🙂 I could feel your excitement welling up. Been there! 🙂

  9. You know there’s a saying about actors that goes something like: I’d listen/watch him/her read the phonebook. Well, you are a writer that can make the ordinary extraordinary. I so enjoyed your slice about your hunt for strawberries. 🙂

  10. I agree that when you are hankering for something particular, like strawberries, nothing else really fills the bill. Will all that substitute fruit make up for not having strawberries? I don’ t think so, I’ll be you’ll be at Sams before the week is over! I love the way you write your train of thought. Very engaging!

  11. The tone of your slices is always so fun! I loved the line “strawberries that taste like strawberries” — such a simple thing, yet hard to find in the winter! Your panic when there weren’t any was great… and then such a surprising, triumphant ending with all the other fruit you ended up trying instead! Once again, your slice has been a bright spot in my day! 🙂

  12. You write like you think. I was right there beside you helping you search for the strawberries while I read your story. Are they Driscoll Strawberries from Watsonville CA by any chance?
    We use to live there, and go and pick them ourselves. Now I buy them for the flavor and memories.

    • They are from Watsonville, but not sure if they are Driscoll. Since I don’t have any I can’t check the package for the brand. I’m thinking there may need to be a follow-up when/if I get more.

      • Actually I was trying to pretend I remembered the brand name with confidence. I do know my favorite are from Watsonville. I remember strawberries are red, and delicious, but brand names are always a little fuzzy.

  13. I enjoyed you compensating for the lack of strawberries. You poor thing! Darn that Sam’s Club. All readers of your post will now flock to the grocery store for some fresh strawberries.

  14. Michelle says:

    As I munch away on my apples at lunch, I’m laughing at your story and wishing I had some . . . strawberries! You wrote this just perfectly! So many juicy lines that I just want to eat up! Yummy slice today!

    By the way, isn’t it amazing how you can go into Sam’s/Costco for one or two items and end up leaving with a cart full always totaling over $100! Happens every time . . .

  15. Love it–I’m picky about my strawberries too, so I totally understand. And then there’s the Walmart/Sam’s connection. Sometimes I feel like I should throw a check for $50 out the window as I pass by one of them. I sure can’t go in those stores without spending more than anticipated~

  16. grade4wizard says:

    This was funny and enjoyable. Seeing all the commens I picture us all observing you in the store. Your habit of eating daily doses of fruit is admirable.

  17. Strawberries would have been my addiction, too, until 3 years ago when I suddenly developed an allergy to them. Bummer! Maybe you’ll be happily surprised and they’ll arrive sooner.

  18. mrssurridge says:

    Your slice made me smile this morning! And I decided on a bowl of fruit for breakfast–a really big bowl! Thanks for the inspiration!

  19. Ummm…I don’t know Elsie…I think I would have kept that second box of blackberries! I loved reading your post. A friend brought a box of strawberries into our office on Friday. They were soo luscious – and the smell! I started to get spring fever then and there.

  20. I’m sorry your quest failed, but you gave us a delightful read all because of it, Elsie. Going to the grocery is like going to the library, you can’t just get what you need and leave-always more to bring home. Good luck with the strawberry search. (Since they are so good, I wonder where they’re coming from?)

  21. Your title and the way you circled back to it gave this post a really satisfying feeling to me. I was really with you on this and you had me wanting strawberries too!

  22. Tam says:

    Mmmm–love fruit more than ever. I’ve been eating strawberries all winter–some good, some not so good. Blueberries were great in Jan./Feb.–my two favorite. I’ve even indulged in raspberries. I think you’ll make it, Elsie, and the strawberries will taste all the more sweeter. Good luck. Did I see some wandering in paragraph 3? My mind is naturally scattered. Was I always this way or learned as a teacher multi-tasking?

  23. I too am a fruit lover, a berry lover. I see absolutely nothing unusual about your quest for strawberries that taste like strawberries. Taste is everything! Don’t even get me started about tomatoes. 🙂

  24. I wish Elsie, that I could love fruit. I do like some: oranges, strawberries, pineapple… but no obsession and your post was a wonderful obsession with healthy eating, me I grab for less healthy 🙂

  25. Love it! You are so very right. There are strawberries and then there are STRAWBERRIES. I am eagerly awaiting summer fruits too. Hopefully you are able to get your fill of strawberries soon.

  26. Jama says:

    Elsie, that is so funny! I think your writing is delightful. (As a matter of fact, this slice-reading is quickly becoming a compulsion for me, and I am going to HAVE to make myself quit and go to bed.) Thanks for my bedtime story. I hope those yummy strawberries come in soon.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

