Terror Coming in the Neighborhood

There is something creeping, or should I say burrowing into our neighborhood. The grassy entrance has been taken over. This four letter word strikes fear and terror in my husband’s heart. Do you know what this is?

Looks like a simple pile of dirt, but it is evil incarnate to my husband. This has been created by a M-O-L-E!

My husband takes immense pride in his lawn and this critter is not welcome. This evidence of a mole is at the entrance to the subdivision, but that is too close for comfort for him. He will be watching all of the lawns the mole has access to before he gets to our corner of the neighborhood.

I pity the poor mole who makes the mistake of turning toward our yard. He will not be long for this world should he zig, when he should have zagged.

18 thoughts on “Terror Coming in the Neighborhood

  1. Such a creative post, as usual from you! I always love your unique points of view. The introduction and then the picture made it fun to predict what the “evil” was!

  2. Reminded me of a time I was in our garden turning and prepping the soil. I took my glove off for a few minutes to feel the dirt. While smoothing it back out my hand went right over the back of a mole, gave me the shivers. Never thought I would pet a mole.

    • Oh no, WE don’t have grubs, I think the common area of the subdivision must have them. We treat and treat and treat so they won’t come near us.

  3. Ahh, your husband is already starting to pop in your slices… he better look out or this could be the first of several husband vs mole episodes 🙂 I hope the mole heads the other direction. Otherwise, I don’t think it will be a happy ending for anyone!

  4. Holey Moley Elsie! This looks serious. I love the intrigue of unresolved mysteries. So focusing in on this developing story tickles curiousity. Good get!
    While we don’t moles in Australia, we still have plenty of critters that dig and burrow and generally cause us grief in the garden…

  5. Wow, we used to have moles in our yard. We killed the insects that they feed on and it helped us to get rid of them. In the meantime it was a deal. Good luck with this! Thanks for sharing! Happy Slicing! 🙂

  6. I feel your pain! If you find a way to get rid of them, please let the rest of us know because I do not care what kind of pain they feel!!! LOL!

  7. Judy C. says:

    Here in the Ozarks, our soil is rocks, rocks and more rocks along with clay. But I can relate, as they were around when we lived in Illinois. I can just picture your husband “on the hunt”. Good luck.

  8. I don’t think we have them in Colorado, but we fought them often in Missouri. Great photo to add to the anxiety! They do a lot of damage I remember! Thanks Elsie!

  9. grade4wizard says:

    Oh, no! What a nuisance. I can’t see this one having “and they lived happily ever after” ending to all parties involved.

  10. Creeping terror is right! We are one of the few home without a lawn service so lots of creatures like to come and burrow in our yard too. I can just see that little creature zig zagging away from your husband’s pursuit.

  11. I love the juxtaposition of a pile of dirt and evil incarnate and the zig/zagged! There was a picture book I used to read to my kiddos (I can’t find it – I just spent 20 min looking!) about a mole who thought he was helping the Dad with the lawn. Spring is at the door!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

