Finally! Snow!

Would you think about buying a snow blower in August? Probably not, but then you’d miss out on having one. Home Depot does not stock snow blowers during the winter months in our area. Actually the manager of the department had to beg corporate to send some to our store. Apparently the home office does not think we get enough snow during a year to warrant stocking snow blowers. The machines were sold out in a matter of a few weeks. One of them found a very comfortable spot in our garage.

The facts of life are, the body just doesn’t hold up to a lot of heavy shoveling any more. Therefore, we needed a snow blower. Our neighbors were quite excited, almost to the point of giddiness when the machine was brought home. I know they had visions of snow-free driveways in their future.

So here we are in February and there has not been one snowfall worthy of getting the blower out. Until this day . . . our first (hopefully only) significant snow accumulation!

I am sitting at my desk working when all of a sudden I hear an unfamiliar sound. I look out the window, but there is nothing in my line of vision. I walk through the house noting my husband has disappeared. The sound leads me to the garage. Smoke has filled one end of the garage as I choke and make my way over to the roaring machine (louder than a lawnmower). My husband had a look of excitement and anticipation on his face as he tries to maneuver this new toy.

One trip down the driveway and he is on his way back up but something does not seem right. It’s too hard to push. A quick look at the owner’s manual and he is off again after making some adjustment to the wheels. Moments later, a wheel falls off. That was not the correct adjustment needed. He finds the pin, checks the manual, I offer sage advice, and he’s back down the driveway

My toes are frozen so I head back into the house. I barely get situated at my desk when the distant roar stops. I know he is not that quick, so I go to investigate. He ran out of gas. The tank is refilled and he is back on the mission. Our driveway is clear, so he heads to the neighbor on the right. Up, down, around, and around, done! He heads to the neighbor on the left. Repeat performance, another driveway is cleared.

“I wish I had that before,” he announces. “There are several snowstorms I can think of where that would have helped.” Now we wait for the neighbors to come home to find a clear driveway. They will be celebrating their good fortune tonight.

An hour after the driveways are cleared, a snowplow comes barreling down our street. Zip in and out, he’s long gone leaving behind a barrier between the end of the driveway and the road! Snow blower to the rescue! This marvelous machine makes short work of the mess the plow left behind. This new tool will make snowy weather fun again.

11 thoughts on “Finally! Snow!

  1. Oh, Elsie! You had me laughing loudly so much that I had to share and read your post out loud to my husband! I love how you started with hearing that unfamiliar sound and a disappearing husband. Oh, the antics, the snafus . . . of course it all had to happen! (Reminds me of your cinnamon roll post!) But there was still joy in everyone’s heart — even the neighbors — at the end of the day! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Phillip says:

    JUST so he doesn’t start blowing snow at 5:30 a.m. like some of the crazy old retired people up here.
    We enjoyed the Renoir exhibit at the Frick. Wish you had been there.

  3. Oh, I giggled at all the initial glitches. I am so glad that you were able to use your new toy. Those shoveling experience can be too much. I’m sure that your neighbors were super excited when they got home….such great neighbors. I could have used you when I was shoveling in NH last year.

  4. So fun! Our neighbor we share a drive with has one, so we haven’t purchased one yet. I think it is absolutely one of the best inventions ever. However, like you, our winter has had a lack of snow this year. My boys were sad but now we’re looking forward to Spring. Love how I felt like I was right there watching your husband with you.
    Katherine

  5. Your post perfectly describes the first time my husband started up BABY. Yes, he named his snow blower. We bought it after moving to Connecticut, and we’ve weathered many a snowfall with her. You captured every single detail of that first run of the snow blower. I loved it!

  6. I LOVE our snow blower so much that I usually hog that toy for myself! My husband does all of the maintenance and gets it started, then I get to do the fun part. It is nice of you to let your hubby enjoy his toy himself!

    I enjoyed this window into your world. It feels so familiar, like a phone conversation with a close friend.

  7. What a cute story! Your description of the mysterious noise and all the smoke was fantastic! I loved when he was out of gas and you knew he couldn’t have finished that fast. I bet your neighbors LOVE you now! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. grade4wizard says:

    I know that your neighbors will appreciate your help. Sometimes you don’t know how much you need the tool until you own one.
    Terje

  9. You bring me to last week when we had a second big snow & our neighbor cleared our driveway before we could even get out there. I think it’s time to look for this big toy! I loved the way you showed that process of getting it all together. I shouldn’t have laughed in the face of cold & snow, but it gave me a big chuckle when the wheel fell off. Glad it all worked out, Elsie!

  10. Snow, really? What’s that like? You do bring home the adventures of a “new” snow blower and I’m almost feeling frozen ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m looking outside to green grass and cool sunshine. I’ll keep this winter without the white ๐Ÿ™‚
    Bonnie

Thanks for taking time to comment.

