Balance


One Little Word has intrigued me for several years as I’ve read about the words chosen by those who post on TWT and how it affects their lives. I’ve mentally played with the idea, but never could think of a word that seemed just right. Besides, I thought, how would this fit into my life? Now that I have been blogging for almost a year (this is #78, I can’t believe this!), I can see how to use that word to guide some of my writing and perhaps even my life.

I decided that my life has felt out of balance this fall. Too much of this and not enough of that. So I will strive to find a balance in my life for the next twelve months. I’ve made a list of some areas that need balance.

Time:

Leisure – Work

Reading for pleasure – Reading for professional reasons (although this can be a pleasure)

Exercise – Lazing about (or working)

Food Choices:

Healthy – Indulgent (translates to yum!)

Shopping:

Purchase – Save

Own (as in books) – Borrow (from the library)

Writing it down is the easy part. Now I must continue to hold this word in my life and live it. Each day I need to ask myself, “Are you living a balanced life?” It is up to me to be sure I can say, “Yes!”

9 thoughts on “Balance

  1. I thought about choosing balance — a great word! I might try it for next year, as I definitely need some improvement in that area as well! Connect was really calling to me for this year though. I’m glad you are trying olw for the first time too!

  2. grade4wizard says:

    Thinking of food choices: my friend says that the balance is not about chocolate (or anything else indulgent) in one hand and a fruit in the other, it’s a balance if you have chocolate in both hands. šŸ™‚
    I hope that OLW helps you to find balance in your life and within you.
    Terje

  3. Balance???? There really is such a thing???? Hmmm.
    Great post. I love the idea of asking yourself how you have achieved your goal every day. I wonder if that would help me be more accountable.

  4. Elsie, I enjoy reading your slices. You definitely find life’s little pleasures. I know you will find balance in yourself and in all the things around you.

  5. Your word makes me excited about the opportunity to follow everyone’s journey through this year with one little word as a guide. Although balance is not my one little word, I sure could use to be reminded of it–and I know I will be as I follow your posts throughout the year. May you find just the balance you need this year!

  6. It’s a great word & I need more of it, but comfort (as you read) spoke louder this time. I’ll be interested in how this might help make changes, & how you will approach the goals. Happy New Year, Elsie! It’s been fun blogging with you.

  7. I’m glad you are joining the OLW adventure, Elsie. I love choosing a word and watching it wrap around my life. Tomorrow I will share my 7th OLW.

    I think Stacey chose BALANCE the first year she selected a word. I look forward to hearing how it influences you this year.

    Ruth

  8. Great word – I’m still figuring out how to go about having balance in my world, so I’ll be looking to you, Elsie, for the path there!

  9. the other ruth says:

    Oh–good word! I think this is one that most of us feel a need to consider. Knowing that you plan to ask yourself each day if you are living a balanced life is causing me to ask the same of my life.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

