A Voice from the Yard

Lately I feel as though I am running on the hamster’s wheel. When I am home, I am preparing for schools. If I am not at home, I am in a school working with teachers. There is no time in-between to sit back, relax, and enjoy the season. This doesn’t make for an interesting slice of life episode. So, this week I have taken on a persona of an inanimate object I can view from the window of my office: the pansies below the maple tree.
We are suffocating, does no one care? A few weeks ago we were plucked from the only home we’ve ever known (a black plastic box) and deposited under this tree. Life was great! What a view of all the comings and goings of the neighborhood. We’ve put down roots and just started to get comfortable when leaves began to fall. At first we thought, “These leaves are so pretty, maybe they will give us some warmth for the frosty nights.” A few are fine, but come on, this is ridiculous! No one can see how pretty we are. Everyone is talking about the colors in the leaves. Don’t they see how cute we are? We’ve got pretty colors too. Who will do something about this?
Vroom, vroom, what’s that? A leaf blower? No, it’s a leaf vacuum! We are saved! That amazing tool has devoured all the leaves and now we are back in our rightful place of being admired for our pretty colors.
The world thinks we are fragile, but actually we are  very hardy. We will watch the neighborhood through all forms of weather. Blooms will vanish when the flakes fly, but they will be back when the winds warm the air in the spring.
15 thoughts on “A Voice from the Yard

  1. What a fun post! Such a creative idea, and a great exercise in writing from a different point of view! I love how you described the emotions of the flowers. I’ve been on the hamster wheel lately too so I know how you feel, and I’m impressed that you still took the time to step back and write such a creative slice!
    +1

  2. Just lovely!! I love your nature posts! You certainly have a way with the little things. I look forward to reading your posts. You inspire me weekly!

  3. Michelle @litlearningzone says:

    Elsie, for someone who is feeling like they are running in circles, you sure have sparked some creativity that is truly impressive! I love the voice of the pansies. I love it!

  4. I love that first picture! I was expecting a voice of vanity from those pansies because they are so strikingly beautiful, showing up those fall leaves! I prefer the voice you gave those pansies- you made them much more likable for all that beauty! Fun perspective!

  5. What a fun post! Such a creative idea, and a great exercise in writing from a different point of view! I love how you described the emotions of the flowers. I’ve been on the hamster wheel lately too so I know how you feel, and I’m impressed that you still took the time to step back and write such a creative slice!

  6. The pansies feeling suffocated is an excellent metaphor for how we all feel every now and again. Sounds like you’re going through that crazy-busy time of the year right now. Remember, a proverbial leaf blower will come and make things easier for you again. Hopefully soon.

  7. jee young says:

    What a great idea to write from the perspective of the flowers! You do a nice job capturing the voice of the pansies. I loved the photos that you posted too!

  8. Fun way to describe what you are seeing. I do love the first photo, so beautiful, but understand how those pansies must feel suffocated! They are amazing and resilient flowers. I’m happy they’ll have a few more days (weeks?) of life, and you will have the view!

  9. Great job–I loved the line about a few leaves are fine…my husband keeps saying those words too! And the flowers are pretty. I may be back to look at your pictures tomorrow–we are supposed to get about 4 inches of snow tonight. UGH.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

