How Would Students Describe You?

I get a lot of school related email that I must have signed up for, but actually have no recollection of what brought me to that site. Usually I quickly peruse the information looking for nuggets that I could use or pass on to teachers. Then it is quickly deleted and I move on to other matters. However, the question of the day caught my attention and made me stop to ponder how I would answer this. The question on the computer screen was: What word do you hope students use to describe you?

As I thought, my mind wandered back to a conversation I had with my brother when I told him I was going to be a teacher. He questioned me,  “What will your students say about you?” My response was quick to him, “They will say I am nice and fair.” After all that’s what I wanted in a teacher. But once I finally stepped into that role I learned there was so much more to being a teacher than nice and fair. They are fine words and if they were used to describe me I would accept it with a smile. However, they are not the words I would select for myself.

Passionate is the word I would like students and teachers to use to describe me. When I was in the classroom, I worked intensely to get all my students to be the best reader they could be. Teachers know my passion for reading by the books I share each time I am with them. My newest passion is writing.  Now they hear of my journey as a writer through this blog.

Sometimes my husband wishes I wasn’t so passionate about books. Is it a bad thing that when I open a new tab amazon.com and half.com are permanent residents on the recently opened tab page? Of course the library system is there too. I can’t own them all. 😦

You can visit the site and read words others have chosen here. After I chose my word, I read the choices made by others. I noticed passionate appeared several times. What’s your word?

11 thoughts on “How Would Students Describe You?

  1. This is the kind of question I remember reflecting on in my undergrad days, but haven’t returned to since then. What a reminder of how important it is to tkae the time to continue to craft and revise the ideas from that “Philosophy of Education” document I was required to carry in my portfolio as I continue my journey as an educator. Supportive is a word I would like to hear (amongst the others that were mentioned).

  2. A neat question to ponder! I’m having trouble choosing a word because there are so many different things I strive to be! I love how you chose “passionate” though because it carries so many others wrapped up in it — hard-working, inspiring, committed, caring… although I can’t really imagine students using the word “passionate”. I think I like Elizabeth’s “inspiring” as far as students go, and I hope other teachers who know me would say “passionate”.

  3. Great link! It is hard to think of one word, but I think I would have to choose as you did: Passionate. That covers a lot of bases!
    Thanks for sharing this.

  4. grade4wizard says:

    Intriguing post. How is it ever possible to choose just one word?
    What is the one word for a teacher who challenges (in a positive way) the students to learn and do a bit more than they thought they could? This has been on top of my list lately.

  5. I guess I wanted to be influential because I told all my students, “If you become successful in writing a book and are interviewed on a talk show, please mention my name as being influential to you in the 7th grade!” I guess I could see myself in a wheel chair in my living room chuckling with eyes beeming that I actually helped someone on the way to success!!! Just a dream. My students would just smile, and I hope they were thinking of becoming a famous author!!

  6. I’ve always wanted to be known as Inspiring! I want to spark something in each child that inspires them to be successful and strive to make a difference. Passionate is an amazing word too.

  7. What a great site, & so many interesting words were chosen. How to choose? I love your word ‘passionate’ & I understand now what you meant about nice and fair, because I like those, too. But I believe I will choose ‘caring’. That’s it, that’s the top of my list. Thanks for making us think, Elsie!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

