A Tale of Frustration

Frustration is what I am feeling today. Frustrated that I don’t have a story to share. Frustrated that I had to get a new computer. Frustrated  this computer has new ways of doing things. Frustrated that the wireless printer is printing extra lines mixed in with my text. GRRRRR!!!!

Usually I have started a slice a few days before posting. I can leisurely reread it and revise several times before posting. Not this week. The week slipped by as I was constantly aware that I didn’t have anything started. So here I sit, Tuesday morning avoiding creating a post.  I read slices already posted. I think I could skip a Tuesday, right? Then as I read, I think, Just Do It! What’s on your mind? And the computer and printer jump to the top of the list.

My computer is a laptop. It has a mind of its own. It turns off, no warning at all. I have lived with this issue for several years. Yes, I have lost information as I worked, but I got very good at saving documents every few minutes. A week ago, I turned it on and saw a new blue screen that informed me it failed to start. Uh-oh! Push enter and it will try to repair itself. I did and it did, but I don’t trust it. I have too many files I don’t want to lose. (I sort of have a back up but it is not complete. Yes, I know I should get a better system.) The computer is about four years old, I figure it has lived long enough. So, off I go to see what is out there in the world of laptops for a reasonable price.

Several hours later I have purchased a new laptop. I am now computer-less. My old computer is at the store to transfer files. I will not see any computer for a couple of days. I am adrift without my computer. Since I have no computer, I cannot work. Perfect opportunity to read. I enjoy my time with books, but I’m thrilled when the store calls and says my computer is ready for pick up. I am back in the “connected” world!

I get the CD for the printer, I run the CD for the printer. It says Successful Installation. So, I begin to create documents. Everything is working just fine, but after a while  there are vertical lines running through my text. It printed fine a moment ago, but not now. What is going on? My neighbor suggests I uninstall the printer, then reinstall to see if that fixes the problem. It doesn’t. I guess a trip to the store is in my future to get some resolution to this problem. I hope a new printer is not in my future. I just bought a new box of  ink for this one.

Okay, I’ve ranted on long enough. Some of the frustration has exited through my fingertips. I guess I did have a story to tell. So, I will quit now, while I feel some relief . . .

6 thoughts on “A Tale of Frustration

  1. grade4wizard says:

    Computer frustration stories – we could all contribute some. I like how you used the write-what-is-on-your-mind technique for the slice.

  2. the other ruth says:

    I’m glad you decided to slice! Though frustrating on your end, I’m guessing many fellow slicers can relate to your tale of woe.
    Good luck!

  3. Elsie…I find it amazing that stories come in the most unexpected places. This is sort of the theme in the National Writing Project institute that I’m doing this month…So although you thought there was nothing to write about, you must have been rehearsing your story to share with us even before you actually typed it out! (Oh, no…I totally drank the NWP kool aid!!!)_

    😉
    Stephanie
    http://boxofchocolates29.wordpress.com

  4. Ugh! We just got a new hard drive which of course moved us to Windows 7…it’s nice but so different from the 6 year old program. Feel free to scream and rant all you want. It makes me feel better. 😉 Good luck with the adjusting and getting things lined up.

  5. Once upon a time, a long time ago, in a different city, I said that I did not want a computer. I did not need a computer. Life was fine. And then it changed…
    They can be so distracting, addictive and irritating…but somehow indispensable. I hope you have a speedy technological recovery!

  6. Amazing what we feel when we’re not connected anymore. How times have changed us! I’m glad you found a new computer and hope it all runs smoothly very soon. And I’m glad you found a slice of your life, clearly an important one. I want also to thank you for the comments. I look for them every week; you are good at giving positive words!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

