Power of Nature

Weather broadcasters had predicted possibility of severe storms Sunday afternoon. The ingredients for a tornado or a dangerous thunderstorm would be ripe after three o’clock.

I had completed all errands and was home by early afternoon. It was a bright sunny day, although the humidity was high. An occassional light breeze would blow and keep you cool.

No sign of storms as I lit the barbeque grill. Brats were grilled. No rain, sky is getting darker and the wind is picking up a bit. Dinner was eaten and the clean up was in progress when the newscaster announced that there are reports a tornado has touched down in Joplin. He said we could be in for a rocky night.

I watch the weather man’s report with growing fear. This is serious. The pictures start to come in. The devastation is unreal. Our sky has a strange color to it.  I know what this storm has done in Joplin and I am afraid. Soon the wind and rain is lashing at our windows. Thunder rolls and echoes as lightning flashes. The weather man says the storm has mostly gone south. We do not have a tornado tonight, only a thunderstorm.

When the storm has raged and is spent the sound of silence draws the neighbors outside. The light is extra bright and over the house we spot a double rainbow. What an incredible sight!

Rainbows are a sign of hope and a promise. This was a magical sight on a night filled with so much destruction.

8 thoughts on “Power of Nature

  1. Your photos are amazing. To see the during the storm and after the storm shots shows how everything can change so quickly. The section where you used a series of shorter sentences beginning with “This is serious” made me sense how your mind must of been racing. Glad to know you are safe.

  2. I got really nervous reading your post. I am so glad that it turned out to be a thunderstorm. You must have been so scared. I loved your ending and your rainbow photo. I have never seen a double rainbow before.

  3. Wow, what craft in creating tension. I love your ending paragraph. In fact, I’m printing it and putting it in my writer’s notebook. Glad you are safe, Ruth

  4. What a story you told! And after the tension of the night you even took photos to go with. Your sharing of your feelings was good. It is a scary thing to happen & I’m happy you’re okay. We had friends in Joplin who were visiting their mom and it took a few nerve-wracking hours before we heard that they were okay.

  5. You described the storm and your emotions that came with it well. I also loved when you talked about the silence drawing people out of their houses leading to the discovery of the double rainbow.

    My sister is in Iowa and she was just talking about warnings there when I was talking to her Sunday evening.

  6. OMG, my stomach began to knot as I read your post. The devastation in Joplin is so very sad. I’m glad that you made it through with only thunderstorms. I hope that your double rainbow continues to bring you luck in the upcoming days as your weather continues to be dreary. Your account of your night and stunning pictures really put me in your shoes.

  7. I like how you wrote this–each paragraph giving us a glimpse of what was happening. It really created a sense of tension. What a scary night that must have been, especially after seeing reports and pictures from Joplin.Happy to hear all is well with you!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

