Learning Curve

I have to apologize to anyone who read my slices in March and were teased by the empty box where a picture was supposed to be. Some of the technical aspects of the blog have totally escaped me. Trial and error play an important role in creating, posting, and managing this blog. I look at other blogs and wonder how did they do that? (I am still trying to figure out fonts.)  I read and reread the help section from WordPress and still can’t figure out what it is talking about. I think I need to get a blog tutor. In the meantime, I stumble through and make modifications as I learn. “When you know better, you do better,” says Maya Angelou. That is the philosophy I follow.

So, I couldn’t understand what was happening to the pictures I had uploaded into my posts. They were there, they looked great, they enhanced the post. Hit the Publish button, view the post, get the link. Come back later and no photos, just an empty box with a red x and a caption. What was going on?

Once I got back home I went to the Help section searching for key words to find the solution to my problem. Suddenly the lightbulb clicks on! Photos must remain in the Media Library to be seen in the post. (Here is where I hit my forehead with my palm.) I had been deleting the photos after I posted the slice of the day. My thinking was if the Media Library didn’t have a lot of pictures in it, it would load faster. That is true, it is faster, but then the photo disappears in the post.

I have spent the last several days  pulling photos out of the Recycle bin and reinserting them into the slices. All pictures are restored. Now I know better, I will do better. And I will find that blog tutor . . .  someday.

14 thoughts on “Learning Curve

  1. Join the club, Elsie. I’m still learning, too. I put all my pictures that I have chosen on my desktop and then move them to all one folder just for my blog. I had “thee” Ruth teach me this. Yes, a tutor is the visual I need. You’re learning like all of us.

  2. I appreciate that you wrote about your problem-solving process with your blog. I am working at it too. Sometimes I wish the help sections were written more like your post. Then maybe I could problem-solve a little more quickly. I’m still learning the language of blogging.

  3. Wow, after reading all of the replies, I can see you hit a nerve for many of us. Determination is how one tackles anything technological. You obviously have it. Great job problem solving! Unlike you, I moved onto blogspot where the format is a bit easier:)

  4. Elsie,
    It is truly a journey and just when you think you have it figured out something new comes along. You shared one of my very favorite quotes in this slice. An excellent mantra, my friend.
    Ruth

  5. Been there and back again. When you figure something out and then leave it and return. I can still wonder how I figured it out the first time. Ever happen to you?
    Bonnie

  6. It was interesting to me to notice how I “learned” to navigate blogging. I still have so much to learn about WordPress but I am fascinated by what I’ve found out about myself as a learner! (I deleted my photos once too!)

  7. I love, love, love that you are inquisitive and determined! Learning new things always helps me realize how my students are feel when they are faced with something new. Hopefully it helps me not get as frustrated with them, knowing that I need someone patient to help ME, or that I sometimes need extra time to figure something out!

  8. Elsie,

    Thank you for sharing how you are learning and investigating. This is one of my favorite parts of being a producer on the web. There are always new tools and tricks to discover. I’ve been playing around with using some simple HTML code, which makes my head hurt, but in a good way.

    If you ever need help interpreting a WordPress issue, I am happy to help. I have been using it for a few years now, and I’ve learned a lot from my many, many mistakes. 🙂

    Best wishes,
    Erin

  9. Let me know if you find a good blog tutor…I could use one too. There are so many different tools that enhance and personalize your blog. Keep working on it, and know that you aren’t the only one with a learning curve. 🙂

  10. grade4wizard says:

    I am glad that you figured the photo puzzle out all by yourself. It must have felt good. You’re a life-long learner.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

