Regensburg, a bit of Bavaria

 When you think of Bavaria, what comes to mind? I see the blue and white diamonds of the Bavarian flag fluttering in the breeze. But mostly, I think of beer, brats, and big pretzels. All three were present and accounted for today.

Traditional way of serving brats

However, I now have another sight to associate with Bavaria. Dogs, they accompany their masters everywhere! Usually it is not just one dog but two dogs. They may be of the same breed or two totally different breeds. These dogs have better manners than most of the masters. They are patient, eyes on the master.

"Mama, when will we go home?"

I found it unusual to be sitting at the outside tables of a restaurant and people strolled through with their four legged friends. One couple decided to have a bite to eat, so they pulled out the pad for the two Rhodesian Ridgebacks to sit upon. The dogs immediately sat politely, surveying their immediate surroundings.  I’m sure they were hoping for a bite, which they got from a tourist sitting nearby.

"Can you spare a bite?"

I wonder . . .  how long does it take to train your dog(s) to sit quietly under or beside a table in a restaurant? My dog never figured it out at home in the kitchen. I can’t imagine what she would do in public.

9 thoughts on “Regensburg, a bit of Bavaria

  1. OOOH! I love those giant pretzels–our guide used to call them bretzels. I even bought a bottle of food lye when I returned from Munich last year so I could learn to make them. I have a bunch of post (which you can see when you return home and recover) on our travel blog: http://traveledmind.com/

    I am so loving your posts!

  2. Christy says:

    Again, you find the most interesting detail to share with us. I am immensely enjoying your documentation of this trip! Your words are oodles better than any scrapbook I’ve seen.

  3. I was never able to train my dogs to do what you’ve shown us, but my daughter’s cattle dog never leaves her side. She spends hours with him; maybe that’s the trick? Your sausages look delightful. Thanks for keeping us along for your ride.

  4. Elizabeth G. says:

    I love your connection from animal dogs to food dogs. I am also surprised at how well some dogs behave. What I would give to have a dog who sat in one spot politely.

  5. Alan Wright says:

    The level of inclusiveness of dogs in people’s lives is fascinating. I found it mind boggling to travel on the New York subway and see dogs in the carriages with their owners. In shopping bags, tucked inside coats, on a lead wrapped around passengers legs. Quite amazing. Your piece made those faded memories re-emerge. Your keen eye for observation comes through in this piece.

  6. I have been enjoying your posts and glimpses into another world. And I hope, at some point, I can train Chloe like the dogs in your slice. I can’t imagine it, but it sure would be nice!

  7. It is interesting how in some circles dogs are part of the norm and in others how they are not welcomed. Great snapshot for of us today. I am envisioning your well behaved dogs and at the same time thinking of the main character in Marley and Me. Two opposite ends of the spectrum.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

