Watching Life Move

 Ahh, Vienna, a city of cafes, cappuccinos, and concerts, I could write about each of them, but today I will focus a little slice of life in the slow lane.

After a panorama bus tour and walking tour of District 1 in Vienna, we return to the boat to rest and relax this afternoon before heading out to the Strauss concert tonight. I sat on the sky deck watching the life moving past, jotting notes in my notebook so I won’t forget the details.

Some of the locals slow their step to gaze upon this boat, curious about the people inside. Couples walk arm in arm or side by side with arms clasped behind their backs. Coats are buttoned up or flopping open with the breeze. Steps are slow, determined to complete this exercise or casual strolling. Joggers’ feet thump, thump as they move past the boat. Two styles of bikers emerge. One is out for exercise, they are dressed in biking clothes. They are a blur as they pedal by the boat, eyes straight ahead.  The other uses the bike for transportation, they will be dressed to continue life when they have reached their destination. They roll along, taking in the sights on their journey.

Now I spot a walker I recognize, it is my husband. He is moving quickly, arms are swinging at his side. “Slow down, take a picture of me,” I call out from the sky deck. He does, now you see my view of the life from the slow lane.

12 thoughts on “Watching Life Move

  1. My browser is not loading the photos, so I hope you can upload them again when you return. But not to worry–your words paint such a vivid picture I feel as if I’m there with you. Love this journey that you are on!

  2. I enjoy the way you describe the different ways couples hold on to each other as they walk, the two distinct types of bikers and the sense of cool spring air in how people are wearing their coats. Thank you for taking your trip in March!

  3. Christy says:

    I am in awe at your ability to paint a picture of everyday life by the focus you choose each day. I am loving the vicarious travel experience your blog provides.

  4. the other ruth says:

    Love getting to see the pictures–and it sounds like you are having a wonderful time. Thanks for taking the rest of us along!

  5. Vienna!! So tha’s what country you are in!!! Thanks for taking me away again for awhile. I have yet to travel like you are. But I haven’t given up yet!! Thanks for sharing.

  6. It’s so great just to look and look. And now we get to see you looking/looking! Interesting observation, even from afar, about the cyclists. Continue sending notes!

  7. grade4wizard says:

    Dear Elsie,
    Stopping, watching, writing the details down – we all should do it more often. I am glad you had the chance. When I watch people I often wonder what they are thinking, where they are going, what will the rest of their day be like. I am glad that you have internet connection and you get to slice every day.
    Terje

Thanks for taking time to comment.

