Cedar Seedling

 

Can you see it? Look closely, left of the sign. It is a lonely cedar seedling. This orphan seedling has been growing slowly but steadily for at least two years in my front landscape bed.

Where did you come from? There are no cedars anywhere on our block. I have looked for your parents in the yards of the neighborhood, but there is no sign of a cedar. Did a bird leave you behind as payment for the time spent living in the nearby Alberta spruce? Or did you blow in with wild winds during a storm?

Sadly, your time is up. This decision was not made lightly, but you do not fit into the scheme of the planned landscape.  Today you have been plucked from the ground and now reside with the liriope clippings. Sorry.

10 thoughts on “Cedar Seedling

  1. Ahhh my son the rangeland management major would be proud of you! Those cedars multiply like rabbits in Ok. They ruin the grasslands and burn fast and hot when caught in a pasture fire. Me on the other hand am from Az. and love pines and cedars, and I love the way you wrote about your temporary visitor.

  2. I love how plants that spring up like your cedar are called volunteers. Usually when we think of volunteers we think of a lot of recruitment. Poor cedar, isn’t there an Arbor society that might like it?

  3. Elizabeth E. says:

    We get volunteer palm trees–courtesy of the birds in our neighborhood. I yank them out as soon as I can, because they are a BEAST to get out later, involving lots of work and/or hiring someone (lots of money).

    The only other volunteers I get are weeds–and after our season of rain and our last week of warm sunny days, I have quite a crop!

    We also got rid of a star pine last year that began as a seedling. I let it grow for 14 years, until it was obvious it was going to knock down the fences, and take over that part of the yard. I haven’t regretted it at all and wondered why I let it grow so long!

  4. Yeah, I was afraid you were going to pluck it out. I kept thinking, isn’t there somewhere else it could reside? Next to rocks, I like trees. Drives my husband crazy.

  5. Heather says:

    Such a quaint and eloquent slice. I love how I could feel your dread and apologetic sadness throughout the piece. I already knew you’d made your decision before I reached the end but it wasn’t official until the last lines. Especially enjoyed the “sorry” at the end. So poignant, but not without remorse.

  6. Isn’t it great when an unexpected something (plant, gift, hug) brings to mind a slice. I am going to write this post in my notebook. Kids don’t always understand how you can take the simplest item and write about it. You did it beautifully, as always.

  7. One of the things I like about these words is that spring is indeed coming or you wouldn’t be outside contemplating the plantings, pruning & ‘fixing’ things. It is indeed a wonderful & tiny slice of the things we do during out days. I like that “sorry”.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

