Are You as Smart as a Fourth Grader?

Fourth grade students were given the challenge to determine the type of poem on the page before them. Here is an example:

Down goes the moon

And up comes the sun,

Welcoming the

 New day.

Did you get it? If not, here’s another example:

Tiny hands

Reaching up from the

Earth, tickling an

Enormous

Sky.

Immediately students begin counting syllables, evidence they had studied Haiku and Cinquains. However, that didn’t seem to work. No discernible pattern emerges.  Who will  solve this mystery? A hum of working voices fill the room. Slowly, the sound fades away. Brows become furrowed as students continue to read and ponder the question, “What do these poems have in common?” A quick yelp from the front of the room, they got it! The rest panic, the buzz picks up again. The “solvers” give the rest a clue. Ahhhhhh. . . we got it . . . why didn’t we see it before?

These acrostic poems are from the book Silver Seeds by Paul Paolilli and Dan Brewer

My turn to try it:

Time away from work is

Required to

Invigorate the mind so you can

Prepare to return to daily life.

Can you tell what’s on my mind? Spring Break is coming soon! Give it a try, it is harder than it looks!

 

 

7 thoughts on “Are You as Smart as a Fourth Grader?

  1. jee young says:

    I love those acrostic poems that you shared. I like your poem as well!! Spring break is on my mind as well, only 2 more days until vacation! 🙂

  2. MaryHelen says:

    Elsie,
    Your poem is beautiful. Thanks for sharing the book. I will have to check it out. What’s amazing is that I have been working on an acrostic poem for Thurs. entitled Green for St. Patrick’s Day. I am amazed by the many great slices, the difference yet all creative. I love the phrase “invigorate the mind”. 🙂
    P.S. Thank you for your kind comment on my slice today. I admire your wonderful comments on so many bloggers’ slices. Thank you for inspiring me. Happy spring break. We have 3 weeks to go.

  3. grade4wizard says:

    The hook, the description, your try-it – I like the structure. I hope that you have a safe and inspiring TRIP.
    Terje

  4. Elsie,
    I was hooked from the beginning, trying to figure out what kind of poem it was. Then, your description of the buzz in the classroom transported me into a lively learning environment.
    Great fun,
    Erin

Thanks for taking time to comment.

