Dishwasher Woes

Lately, opening the dishwasher has a bit of a Russian roulette feel to it. Did the soap dispenser open and wash the dishes properly or did it remain stubbornly closed? Therefore the dishes were rinsed, extensively. This has been going on for several months. At first, I thought perhaps it is the dish soap. So, I switched from powder to tablets (even trying different brands of tablets). No, that did not solve the problem.

Each morning I dreaded opening the dishwasher door. There’s a click and a pop as the door opens and my eyes fall to the soap dispenser. I feel like I’ve won the lottery when the soap is gone. Elation! However, doom and gloom set in when the soap is still there, so now I have to run it again (leaving the soap door open).

“We need to get a new dishwasher,” says my husband. “I am tired of this monkeying around and washing dishes twice.” He immediately begins the search for the next great dishwasher via Consumer Reports. According to CR dishwashers should last eight years and ours is only six years old. I throw out the idea of getting it repaired, but that idea is quickly discarded. He wants a new one, a quiet one.

We go to the appliance store (armed with CR, of course). Bosch is rated very quiet and they have one and it is on sale! But the interior looks smaller than what we have. Will our dishes fit? Home we go to collect an assortment of  dishes. We return, I load the dishwasher. They fit! We will take it.

But wait, do we get it in white or do we switch to stainless? For resale, stainless is the best choice (according to all HGTV shows). But that will give us mismatched appliances (horrors!). So this snowball is starting to grow:  new dishwasher, new refrigerator, then new double ovens. Stop the madness! I like white. White is what we have. White goes with the decor. I am not buying appliances because someone else some day may want to buy my house. We order white.

We have a new dishwasher. It is white. It is quiet.

new dishwasher

8 thoughts on “Dishwasher Woes

  1. Elsie,
    I must admit that I’m more than just a little jealous of both of your dishwashers – the one that was hit and miss and now the new working one. As I sit here typing this, I am looking at a pile of dishes that will have to be done by hand because we do not have a dishwasher. Some people say that washing dishes is calming – all that soaking and suds and soap – but I think they’re all nuts. Give me a dishwasher any day of the week!

    -Carrie F.

  2. I love your description of your interaction with your dishwasher as that of Russian roulette. We’re playing that game with our washing machine. But I think my research on the DIY network is going to help me repair this thing by myself!

  3. We bought white, too, for the same reasons. Our soap dispenser would do the same thing, but only when my husband loaded the dishwasher. We finally figured out that he would put the tall cutting board in front of the little door, which prevented it from opening. We bought a stainless steel interior and in our hard-water area, it looks terrible all the time. Wish I’d gone with the plastic tub (no one makes porcelein enamel over steel in my price range).

    Like you, I hate the mucking around with reviews, and schlepping around to stores when you’re trying to purchase new big ticket items. But we bit the bullet and love how quiet it is. I don’t even know when it is running. Bliss! Happy Dishwasher!!

  4. Your post captured the process I too go through in making any decision for my home. However, I would not have been “brave” enough to take in my dishes for a fit. I’ll remember that for the future.

  5. Tiff says:

    Oh LC! A quiet Bosh! Such fun! This brings to mind there is nothing more frustrating than that trickle down effect of one appliance after the next going on the blink! (This has been a part of my life… almost like a visit from a nutty neighbor!) Although I haven’t had a visit from this neighbor lately, I know the visit is going to happen. This post reminds me to save my money for the next offender! Enjoy your clean dishes, quiet house and happy husband. Life is good.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

