Hair

“Does Stacy work Monday?” I asked my husband on Saturday. The answer is affirmative and I make mental plans to visit her first thing Monday morning. However, the follow up comment is not one I truly appreciated.

“Good, I’m glad, because you really need to go, but I didn’t want to say anything,” said husband. Mentally I am shocked, appalled, and offended. Yes, I need a haircut, but I did not think it was at the stage of being an embarrassment to him. A little shaggy, yes, but utterly unkempt, no!

A valid reason does exist for my haircut delay. He knows it and that’s why he has not said anything before (so he says). We have a trip coming up, so I intended to make the current haircut last until  it is closer to our departure date. Clearly, it won’t wait. 

Today’s must do: HAIRCUT

9 thoughts on “Hair

  1. Christy says:

    I am torn between being offended for you and being happy for you that your husband even noticed you have hair! Ha ha! I love the list of severe feelings, followed by the fact that this was all over…hair.

  2. My husband wishes I would never cut my hair. I have to sneak off to the hair dresser before I get the second degree – which is just what was on my schedule today. I wish I had a trip coming up as the reason for the cut!

  3. I love the way you started your slice right off with dialogue then went into a thoughtshot. My husband used to always tell me I needed to do something with my hair. I finally did and he about choked when he saw bill. He doesn’t ask any more. 🙂

  4. I just cut my husband’s hair in our kitchen before he left on his business trip. I think to myself how great he has it–just walk downstairs and there’s the beautician and he can do it in his jammies. But the trade-off is that I only know one kind of haircut–his–so if he wants anything different, I just shrug and cut it the way I know how.

    I’m about due for a haircut, but am trying to make it last until my planned trip as well!

    Elizabeth E.
    http://peninkpaper.blogspot.com

  5. Oh how funny! I can laugh because it didn’t happen to me. I think that I would have given my husband the “stink eye” had he said that to me. Boys! What a great post.

  6. Semantics! Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and what one thinks is shaggy the other thinks is wonderful! You don’t worry about it, he’ll get over it! It will do. This was cute! :o)

  7. You never know when the hubby is going to say something like this. It usually isn’t to insult, just remind us. Men have a tendency to just state the facts without thinking of their repercussions! My husband has learned not to say anything about my hair–this is safe!!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

