If I Had a Millionaire Dollars. . .

This is it, this will be my final post with information from Jeff Anderson (there have been 2 additional posts relating to a day spent in a preconference session).

What’s more interesting to you, learning about subordinating conjunctions OR AAAWWUBBIS? (pronounced ah-whoo-bus -be sure to stretch the sound out) If you said subordinating conjunctions, stop reading now and get a life!

AAAWWUBBIS is a mnemonic device to help kids remember words that are subordinating conjunctions. They are after, although, as, when, while, until, because, before, if , since. If you begin a sentence with one of these words, you will probably need a comma somewhere in your sentence.

Jeff played the song If I Had a Millionaire Dollars by the Barenaked Ladies and we were to complete the sentence. Here are some of my responses:

  • If I had a million dollars, I’d travel a lot more.
  • If I had a million dollars, I wouldn’t be traveling in economy.
  • If I had a million dollars, my husband would be ecstatic.
  • If I had a million dollars, I could pay off my son’s college loans.
  • If I had a million dollars, dinner would be out more than in.
  • If I had a million dollars, I would put a deposit down on a house for my son and his wife.
  • If I had a million dollars, I wouldn’t worry about finding what I want on sale.

After creating the list, we had to put a star the one by the one  that we had the most to say about. We did a quick free write with the challenge to begin as many sentences as possible with the subordinating conjunctions.

So, if you had a million dollars, what would you do?

9 thoughts on “If I Had a Millionaire Dollars. . .

  1. If I were to have a million dollars…
    I would paint pictures, take photographs, write books, make jewelry, teach technology, sing songs, sew and give out advice; then I would pay myself well for those jobs well-done.

  2. ng says:

    Thank you for sharing your information about Jeff Anderson…I also recently read his book. He’s incredible.
    If I had a million dollars, I would revel in the freedom and opportunity of having so many possibilities before me.

  3. Love Jeff Anderson lessons! They are always winners and really get the kids writing and having fun playing with sentences. If I had a million dollars, hmmmm, I am a pathetically practical person so I probably would pay off my house and create trust funds for my kids. If I had a million dollars, I could start a foundation to fund arts programs for children. If I had a million dollars, I would buy all the Merrell shoes I wanted. If I had a million dollars, I would get my hair done more often!

  4. Thanks for sharing your information from Jeff Anderson. He is so great…I learned so much about to teach grammar in just two days… Mnemonic devices are a mainstay for myself. Love this one for subordinating conjunctions.

  5. First of all, I love this activity! What would I do with a million dollars? I think I am going to spend the next half hour pondering this delightful impossibility!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

