Grammar and Editing Can Be Fun?

Jeff Anderson has got it going on.

Last year I discovered Mechanically Inclined  when I listened to his podcast on the Stenhouse website. I was hooked, he made grammar concepts interesting and fun. Not two words I think of with the word grammar.

Everyday Editing came next. Now I was an official Jeff Anderson groupie. So. . . when I discovered he was going to be presenting all day in a location fairly close to my home I made it my goal to be front and center.

What a great day it was! He clarified questions one gets from trying to interpret text. Now it is up to me to take this information into schools and share these creative approaches to grammar and editing. Seeing language books with fill in the blank sentences to practice grammar are like fingernails on a chalkboard to me.  (sidebar realization: with the proliferation of white boards this phrase will have no meaning to students. How sad!) What a waste of precious writing time for the students!

If you have not discovered his work I urge you to check it out. He says his target grades are 4-12, but I believe some of his ideas can be used at all grades.

Good news for fellow groupies – he is working on another book. Bad news is he is still writing it, so it will be a while until we can read it.

7 thoughts on “Grammar and Editing Can Be Fun?

  1. Christy says:

    I get to see him next week- he must be traveling! I am so excited. I have been using his books for the first time this school year with lots of success. Glad to hear is just as powerful live as he is in print!

  2. Elsie,
    Your revelations about grammar are heartening. It can be fun and we can enthuse kids about it when it is contextualized and authentic. Thank you for sharing this important message. I wish more of the teachers I work with had been there to hear Jeff share his understandings. I had a copy of Mechanically Inclined and lent it to someone -wish I could remember who. The fact that it didn’t come back adds further weight to your post about this appraoch to grammar and editing. Thank you for sharing this important news.

  3. grade4wizard says:

    Dear Elsie,
    Thank you for commenting on my posts. In today’s slice: E. is a 9-year-old girl. I’ll make it more explicit.

  4. grade4wizard says:

    Dear Elsie,
    Your enthusiasm for the creative approaches to grammar is clearly expressed. You are persuasive. I will follow your recommendation. Thank you.

  5. Looks like you’ve just given me some good book recommendations, Elsie! Thanks! I’m always looking for something that will help my students better grasp some of these difficult concepts. I also love that you call yourself a groupie here! Did you get him to autograph one of his books for you?

    -Carrie F.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

