Where Did It Go?

Dinner is over and I am rinsing the dishes but something does not feel right. Slowly, with dread and hesitation, I  slide my tongue around and over my teeth and discover something is missing! I have a hole . . .  a gap . . .  a space . . .  a temporary crown is supposed to be there. What happened? How did this happen? How could it have fallen off and gone unnoticed as I chewed my dinner? It must have been the stir-fried asparagus.

“Does it hurt, is it tender? asks my husband.

“No, remember I had  a root canal, there are no nerves in that tooth. I feel nothing, just a big hole”

Flash forward to Monday morning: I can get in to see the dentist at 10:00.

The dental assistant leads me back to the chair and announces, “I have your crown. I called the lab and he said he was finishing it up. So we can put the crown on today.”

Relief washes through me as I hear those words. Thirty minutes later I am out the door and on my way home! I hope this is the end of my dental issues for quite some time.

5 thoughts on “Where Did It Go?

  1. Oh my gosh, I had a chip in my front tooth repaired and the bonding came off and I ate it. I remember chewing it. I love this topic. Everyone has a tooth story, even kids. You just gave me my idea for one of my next slices! Thanks, Elsie!

  2. MaryHelen says:

    My back stiffened at just the word “dentist”. Glad it all worked out. I liked the fast forward in your post. Great way to connect the entire slice. Thanks for modeling that. MHG:)

  3. Lucky you! My last year was filled with the ordeal of getting an implant – took almost a whole year – and it began with me losing my tooth at school. It was my front tooth so my students learned a lot about dental care and aging teeth!

  4. Christy says:

    I was taught to keep denture adhesive on hand just in case a crown comes loose–I guess that would only help if you don’t swallow the crown! Yikes!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

