Celebrating Late

Zip. . . blink . . . and a week is over! Summer marches on! This week found me staying close to home. The hot humid weather left for a few days, so we could enjoy the breezes in the backyard while celebrating the oasis of plants that surround us.

While enjoying the view, I read Readers Front and Center by Dorothy Barnhouse. I loved it and now I must reread it to mine it for teaching points to use next year. (Thanks Christy for recommending this book.) Being able to spend a couple of days on the patio with a professional book is a celebration.

When I looked up from my reading I am surrounded by green, but yet color pops in. I celebrate the work my husband has put in to create this sanctuary.

Pink roses splash their color.

Pink roses splash their color.

Hostas quietly bring color into the shaded landscape.

Hostas quietly bring color into the shaded landscape.

Verbena shouts, "Look at me! Don't you just love purple?"

Verbena shouts, “Look at me! Don’t you just love purple?”

Longing for these lovely spheres to turn brilliant red, sigh . . . when?

Longing for these lovely spheres to turn brilliant red, sigh . . . when?

Basil waits patiently for the tomatoes to join the party. Can't you just taste the caprese salad?

Basil waits patiently for the tomatoes to join the party. Can’t you just taste the caprese salad?

A final celebration is a friend, who plants more than she can consume and she shares this bounty with me.

Zucchini and squash ready for the grill.

Zucchini and squash ready for the grill.

I wonder what celebrations are waiting to be discovered this week.

7 thoughts on “Celebrating Late

  1. b says:

    Hi Elsie! Absolutely true — last week was superb for patio reading. Cool breezes, good book. What could be better? And, thanks for the book rec. I think I saw on Twitter Dorothy Barnhouse is moderating a tweet chat soon? I’ll have to mine my feed for that piece of info :). LOVE your beautiful garden; this is a true gift. (P.S. Thanks for your kind comment on my blog; I appreciate you sharing in my excitement!) b

  2. Love the vividness of all those colors! I’m deep in YA books and PD books – the delights of being able to sit on my porch and read all the summer day. Joy!

  3. I do love purple, especially flowers. Your garden is beautiful!! I am really loving spending time in my garden too. I’m going to look into that book. Sounds like a good one!

    ~Jennifer

Thanks for taking time to comment.

