Glimpses

Today Kim left. It has been an action packed week of fun, fun, fun. On Saturday, I listed some highlights from each day. There were so many moments worthy of being a true slice, but I don’t have the time or energy to develop them properly. Some of the moments will live deep in my heart as memories to savor. Here are a few more glimpses into my past week.

My one little word this year has been sweet. I have found sweetness in being with friends and family. These people are especially important in difficult times. So it was particularly sweet for Kim to bring me a gift bag with some “sweets” inside.

sweet

The first stop on my tour of St. Louis for Kim was the botanical gardens. The Climatron had a special exhibit with Lego sculptures incorporated into the plants.

These strange critters were mostly made of Legos.

These strange critters were mostly made of Legos.

I took lots of picture of flowers and plants. Perhaps these photos may appear in another post, but here are a few to give you a glimpse into the gardens.

These gates had Chihuly glass. There were other places throughout the gardens with more of this glass.

These gates had Chihuly glass. There were other places throughout the gardens with more of this glass.

 

 

Elizabethan herb quilt garden.

Elizabethan herb quilt garden.

Not everything was plant based in the gardens. We spotted several geckos wandering about.

Not everything was plant based in the gardens. We spotted several geckos wandering about.

The Arch is a must do for any visitor to the city.

Kim snaps a picture of Cardinal stadium from the top of the Arch.

Kim snaps a picture of Cardinal stadium from the top of the Arch.

Dinner with Slicers and Tweeters and others was a wonderful way to cap off the day.

photo 2 (9)

Christy is all smiles.

 

 

 

photo 1 (7)

Tam and Ruth, wonder what they are focusing their attention on.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ruthRuth inspired and filled hearts with her opening message. I wish it had been filmed and saved on You Tube. It would be a video to view over and over.

My day was spent with Mary Helen, Tammy Shultz, Franki Sibberson, and ColbySharp. Each one nudged me to think in a new way.

After the entertaining dinner with Barry Lane, a group of us sat outside visiting. Eventually we had to move our talk inside, but it was fun to visit with new and old friends.group

Friday came too early, and once again my thinking was pushed by Martha Horn, Kristin Ziemke, and Kelly Gallagher. This evening had a perfect ending. Dinner at a delightful restaurant with very special friends.

Next week, I will share the adventures of map reading. Stay tuned.

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Glimpses

  1. This conference sounds like it was amazing. I need to investigate it for maybe next year! So many slicers and forward thinkers in education. How wonderful! Also the garden looks like so many fun. I bet my boys would adore it! Looking forward to next week’s slice!

  2. Ramona says:

    I had my own map reading adventures last year at All Write. Can’t wait to read yours. Thanks for sharing your trip and All Write with us. You and Kim share a sweet friendship.

  3. I’m so glad that you had such a wonderful time with your friend on your road trip! I can’t believe that photo board is made entire of legos. That’s pretty impressive!

    Love your “teaser” at the end…and already looking forward to a slice about the adventure of map reading. :)

  4. Wow….sounds like you had a great time with friends…and lots of adventures. Loved your pictures. Those little geckos are so cute…and I love Chihuly glass. I have not been up in the Arch…but have been in the visitor center there…so cool. Looking forward to hearing more of your adventures. I am hoping that your foot has healed well by now.

  5. You and Kim in that first picture crack me up! I am sure you were exhausted…a happy exhausted though. Thank you for sharing the group picture. I had not seen that one yet. Have a great week!

  6. Jaana says:

    Serious topics, seriously great photos, but underneath it all, humor! You keep writing and we keep coming back for more! Love the non-plant based photo!

  7. Judy C. says:

    Sounds like you (and others) had a wonderful time. I love St. Louis, the Arch, Botanical Gardens and all the other sites. Thanks for sharing your pics and journey. If your map reading skills are like mine, we have a lot in common. I drive my Hubby crazy!

  8. Such beautiful pictures! I remember when I went up in the Arch in St. Louis — riding up in those clickey, rickety little cars. I thought I was going to die! Not a good place to be if you don’t like small spaces. Looks like you both enjoyed your time together.

    Jennifer

  9. Sounds like you had a rewarding time….both professionally and personally. Look forward to reading your next installment. Hope your map reading skills are better than mine (that’s why I take Kathy with me).

  10. Wow, what a busy week! I love how you saw so many slice worthy moments in your week. I am particularly looking forward to the map reading slice, I have a feeling humour will be involved. So glad you had such a wonderfully social time. :)

  11. Hi again! It was truly wonderful to see you & be with you. So glad you had such a marvelous visit with Kim, too. I envied you your travel together. Hope the rest of the week is good, too!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

