Anticipation!

It was May 2012, I was in southern California, and I knew a new blogger from the March challenge was somewhere near. I thought about contacting her. I had her email because she had commented on my blog. Do I reach out or do I return home wondering what would have happened if I contacted her? The first week went by, I did not contact her.

During the second week, I clicked send and an email was sent into cyberspace. My heart thumped in my chest when I saw a response in my inbox. Did she want to meet? Yes! She did want to meet me!

We met for lunch, but it wasn’t long enough. We talked for several hours, but still it wasn’t enough. However, it had to do for that first meeting.

The next year we met again. This time we spent the day together. Still it wasn’t enough time.

Then I hatched a plan for her to come back to the Midwest and we could have a road trip to the All Write conference. That might give us enough time together. :-)

Monday was a waiting game. Waiting for Kim (from Learning Tour Writing Stop) to arrive. She wasn’t due to land until 8:40 p.m., but her flight was early. I was still ten minutes away from the airport when she called to tell me she was here. That was great because we have so much to do. It was a late night of talking, but today our adventure begins.

If you are reading this in the morning, we are on our way to St. Louis for a quick tour. If you are reading this later in the day, we may be on our way to the top of the Arch. Or we could be at the Botanical Gardens. But if you are reading this after dinner, we have eaten an Italian meal on The Hill (click here for info).

Wednesday morning we will head for Warsaw. The next two days will fly by with lots of learning and meeting friends from the slicing world. Before we start back to Missouri we hope to visit the Amish area north of Warsaw. Rumor has it there are garden quilts to view.

The next few days will be fun, fun, fun!

 

 

18 thoughts on “Anticipation!

  1. I wish I could be there too! That sounds so wonderful and fulfilling to have a life experience with a far-away slicer! I hope you both had the best time. I love following along with both of you!

  2. Ohhh, I wish I were going to All Write! So many of you are going! This was just not the summer though. Maybe I’ll go next year. Can’t wait to hear all about it!

  3. Wow! What fun! I’m glad that you had the courage to put your email “out there” and that your blogger friend wanted to meet that day back in 2012. Have a great time on your road trip together and enjoy the conference. Maybe you’ll have to make it into a yearly getaway!

  4. Your excitement really comes through. Have a great time. I wouldn’t mind seeing some picture of those garden quilts so I can show them to Kathy.

  5. I’m so excited that you are going to All Write. Will you stay the whole weekend? Wish I was going to be there to meet you. One of my Book Club Gals will at the registration table! Ind Julia Nixon! Have fun!!!

  6. Ramona says:

    Reading this post brings back happy memories from last year’s All Write. I loved our shared breakfast that last morning. Happy miles to you and Kim!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

