Snow, Again

Snow is best appreciated when you can snuggle in with a cozy comforter, mug of hot liquid, and a book upon your knee at home.

Snow (or impending snow) is not appreciated when you are at an inner city school modeling writing lessons. The rooms buzz because there will be a two hour early dismissal. Classroom teachers are busy notifying parents of the early dismissal. Lunch must be served earlier than usual. Plus the classes are taking a computer assessment every day this week.

However, due to the early dismissal, I am able to combine two classes. There is only one class that I cannot meet with today.

I grab my sandwich from the fridge and head out the door. Snow is sifting down from the gray skies. Streets are still clear as I make my way to the highway. The sifting snow now becomes a pelting snow, flying into the windshield, trying to pierce the glass.

Brown jumbles of shrub limbs become outlined in white. The white dashed lane dividers disappear on the road. I land in the most cleared lane. Traffic continues to move steadily, as the visibility diminishes. I scan the road ahead looking for taillights as a warning.

Road signs warn of road conditions ahead. Cars did not heed the warning, their position along the road makes me wonder how they came to be there. Cautiously I continue on my journey. The road becomes narrower as the snow claims more and more real estate.

Finally, I pull into the garage. I breathe a sigh of relief. My fingers flex to work the tension out. My neck cracks as I turn my head. Tension evaporates from my body.

Yes, snow is best appreciated when you can snuggle in with a cozy comforter, mug of hot liquid, and a book (or computer to write a slice and read slices) upon your knee at home. I can appreciate the snow now.

23 thoughts on “Snow, Again

  1. Yikes – I was feeling the tension, too, just reading about your experience. SO glad you made it safely. And congratulations on post #250! Quite an accomplishment. Wonder how many comments you have shared? You are so encouraging with those, too.

  2. Whew! I was feeling your tension while driving. “The snow claims more and more real estate” captures the scenes of this winter. I love your wording. I am watching (more) snow out my window with a blanket, notebook, and coffee.

  3. I’m always so relieved when I arrive, whether home or my destination, so happy you made it safely Elsie. You described this anxious time so well. And now more is on the way-argh!

  4. Ramona says:

    You had me sitting on the seat beside you with these lines: “The white dashed lane dividers disappear on the road . . . Traffic continues to move steadily, as the visibility diminishes. ” Daughter has a 45 minute commute in New York state this year. So glad that we don’t have much snow, but I keep my prayer requests in for family and friends who must travel in it.

  5. So true! I love the contrast you built between the craziness of school and the comfort of home. We are expecting more snow here tonight… we’ll see what happens!

  6. I dislike when the snow takes away my path, kinda hard to know where to go. However, like you, I don’t mind it when it is outside my window and I am inside with a mug of coffee!

  7. Oh how I could relate! I love all things snow, for sure (did you see my post about my Super Bowl snow decor on Sunday?), and I even love to drive in it. However, I don’t love to drive in it with others. I prefer to have the roadways all to myself. :) Glad you were rewarded with some time to relax, as well!

  8. I have had too many days like this this winter. Living 28 miles from my school does not make snowy drives any easier. I absolutely agree – if I could spend every snowy day curled up on the couch with a good book, snow would be absolutely worth it.

  9. Judy C. says:

    We said the heck with the snow and have been basking in some warm sunshine and 80 degree temps. Unfortunately, we have to head back to reality this weekend. Stay safe and hopefully this will be the last of the snow storms for us this winter!

  10. I totally agree! Snow days are best from the inside looking out! There isn’t much better than a cup of something warm, a book, a cozy blanket and a comfy seat. We have snow heading our way tomorrow…maybe a snow day???

  11. I so agree! You have expertly written the unsettling feeling of traveling in the snow. That is no fun. So glad you made it home safely. Looks like we may be here awhile. Snow is coming down pretty heavy and blowing…yuck!

  12. Your description of the road is captivating – I felt the tension in my shoulders as I “drove” along with you. May you have a relaxing time, enjoying the snow from the warm indoors!

  13. I sure don ‘t miss being out in the snow. I always felt that the perfect snowfall would be one that fell on the lawn only and never on roads, driveways, or sidewalks. Hash ‘t happened yet.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

