Celebrating Before the Holidays

Next week will be full of celebrations as family members arrive to celebrate Christmas together. Here are my celebrations this week!

One: My heart beat a bit faster when the news exploded with the hacking of Target’s customer’s credit card numbers. Recently I made a purchase there, but couldn’t remember the specific date. As my heart thumped in my chest, I checked my credit card statement on-line. Relief streamed through my veins when I saw the date I shopped was the day after the hacking. I celebrated that moment for me, but felt for all the people who will be impacted by this hacking. 

Two: On January 2 I must do an all day, all staff presentation. My offices will be closed from December 20-January 6. This presented a problem for me to have all the handouts prepared and run off in time. I celebrate that our secretary offered to come in on Monday. This gives me two additional days to work. I appreciate that she will go above and beyond, which gives me the time I need to prepare for my work.

Three: Teachers’ attitudes were cause for celebration. I worked with kindergarten and third grade teachers on understanding the writing common core standards. They had been out of school for a week due to ice and snow, it was two days before break, and they are already short on time during their teaching day, but they were trying to figure out how they were going to make adjustments to their teaching to incorporate these standards. 

Four: This week I went out to get the paper and was in awe of the spectacular sunrise.

Doesn't it look like the world is on fire?

Doesn’t it look like the world is on fire?

These colors disappeared too quickly!

These colors disappeared too quickly!

Have a very Merry Christmas!

 

9 thoughts on “Celebrating Before the Holidays

  1. maryleehahn says:

    So much to celebrate! Love the sunrise — we had one like that yesterday morning. I knew it was going to be gorgeous because the room was glowing pink through the closed curtains on the east-facing windows!

  2. We are still trying to figure this out – one of my kids shopped when she shouldn’t have. :( But you have some amazing things to celebrate, Elsie – family coming in, and co-workers who appreciate what you do. Happy holidays, and may it be filled with joy and peace.

  3. Two years and finishing strong... says:

    Amazing friend that helped with the handouts…amazing sunrise…love seeing the snow in the foreground. I love seeing the snow for Christmas. Next week I have to figure out CELEBRATION…so I can join in. xo Merry Christmas L.C. nanc

  4. Lots of celebrations! We have had several of these glorious sunrises recently- truly breathtaking! Could definitely sympathize with you about the presentation on your first day back– I have one of those on our first day also, which I have not even started to prepare, because we spent the entire week grading our district’s winter interim writing samples. Thank heavens for helpful secretaries!

  5. Jaana says:

    I know what you mean about the hacking. Then I realized that I had actually paid cash the last time I shopped at Target (in many months)! I am with Terje, presenting on the 2nd??? My first presentation of the year isn’t until the 6th! I am feeling the luxury right now! I am hoping to enjoy a few sunrises from my living room during this break; they just might not be as grand as yours.

  6. Presenting on the 2nd? Go girl! I like your pics. It has been a long time since I’ve seen a proper sunrise. it’s mostly cloudy and dark here. It will slowly start getting lighter after Christmas. Enjoy the time with your family!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

