Perverse Pleasure

I have to admit it, I am a little bit evil. There are times I indulge in perverse pleasure. Let me explain.

Have you ever bought something at a Staples store with a credit card? After you swipe the card and you are ready to put it away the clerk says, “May I see the card?” My usual response is to flash it and say, “Can you see it now?” The startled look on the cashier’s face makes me laugh as I hand it to him/her. I don’t know why, but I get  a smidgen of pleasure in that instant of confusion.

On Sundays, I go to get groceries. There is not a lot of traffic on one particular road but there is a stoplight. I am on the less traveled road and the stoplight must have a sensor to let the busier road know someone is waiting to turn left. I look left, I look right, I wonder will the light turn and you have to stop? Often there is no traffic and no one is inconvenienced by the stoplight. But this week was different. Someone had to stop in both directions. I’m afraid I have to admit, there was a bit of a smirk on my face as I made my left turn. That’s perverse pleasure.

17 thoughts on “Perverse Pleasure

  1. Too funny. I admit whenever i get someone behind me that is clearly annoyed, in a hurry, and just being a jackass I drive just a little bit s l o w e r. bwhahahaha

  2. My grandma, a quiet, sweet, kind lady, used to be fairly proper and straight laced. Not rigid, just old school. We were eating Thanksgiving dinner together and my dad asked my grandma to please toss him a roll from the opposite end of the table. She picked one up and tossed it to him. We all sat wide-eyed for a few seconds and then burst into laughter. Perverse Pleasure at an unexpected time or from an unexpected source = delight, enjoyment, laughter!

  3. Hilarious! I love this admission. I know exactly what you mean about the cars having to stop! The credit card thing is totally my husband’s brand of humor. He likes to make people stop dead in their tracks and think.

  4. I totally understand this need to mess with people, just a bit, not too much, but enough to get a giggle. I too find moments I delight in this, then I slap my hand. ;)

  5. Wow, that scene at Staples is pretty hard core. I was surprised to read it. Like we tell kids, characters are never just one way. Very true of people too.

    But I loved that have a name for it. You know it’s “perverse” yet you delight in it so much.

  6. Seney says:

    Oh “PP” (as my 3 year old granddaughter likes to say…and then she looks at you as if to say…now what will you do with that)…enjoy your Perverse Pleasure…keep flashing that card!

  7. grade4wizard says:

    There’s some salt in every sweet pie. Your definition of evil won’t make into dictionaries. Thank you for sharing. I like to see that wonderful people have a bit of a dark side too.
    Terje

Thanks for taking time to comment.

